jump to navigation

Upsie daisie… 24 October 2008

Posted by marisacat in Inconvenient Voice of the Voter.
trackback

zz

William Weld has joined in with the Ob forces… 10 days left, still room!  Come on over, Monte Hall is here!

I remember when Guiliani and Riordan, R mayors of the big cities, on either coast, declared themselves ready, willing and able to work with Bill.

^^^^^^

Quite aside from the political whateverscape… this, from Moyers last night, is well worth it.  The video is up, I see…

Just for joy…

Johnson traveled around the globe and recorded tracks for such classics as “Stand By Me” and Bob Marley’s “One World” — creating a new mix in which essentially the performers are all performing together — worlds apart. Often recording with just battery-powered equipment, Johnson found musicians on street corners or in small clubs and they would in turn gather their friends and colleagues — in all, they recorded over 100 musicians from Tibet to Zimbabwe.

Comments»

1. NYCO - 25 October 2008

William Weld… I remember when he wanted to run for NY governor… claiming he had “Upstate ties” because he had some big fat camp in the Adirondacks. LOL.

2. liberalcatnip - 25 October 2008

I really enjoyed that Playing for Change segment on Moyers’ show last nite. Great concept. Good tunes.

3. liberalcatnip - 25 October 2008

Old prejudices die hard: Jerry Lewis makes another anti-gay slur

CANBERRA, Australia – Jerry Lewis made an anti-gay slur on Australian television similar to one he apologized for using on his annual telethon a year ago.

Following a news conference in Sydney Friday, Lewis, 82, was asked by a Network Ten national TV reporter for his opinion on the Australian nation sport of cricket.

“Oh, cricket? It’s a f– game. What are you, nuts?” Lewis replied.

The network broadcast the comment in full on its Friday evening news bulletin along with footage of Lewis handling an imaginary cricket bat with an effeminate gesture.

4. Madman in the Marketplace - 25 October 2008

Wisconsin Day Two: Barack Hussein Obama II

I can’t wait until these ten days are over.

5. Madman in the Marketplace - 25 October 2008

Trampled Iraq Vet gets Mug Fixed

A week and a day after being trampled by the Mounted Cops at the Hofstra Prez Candidate Debate POLICE RIOT, Iraq VET, Nick Morgan underwent facial reconstruction. The Doc’s were minimally invasive by going into the eye socket to place both TITANIUM braces, and some biodegradable sleeves on the shattered orbit and zygoma bones.

6. Madman in the Marketplace - 25 October 2008
7. marisacat - 25 October 2008

hmmm btw, thanks to the schnauzers at The Corner, I see that Rick Warren, that centrist, unifying [so they say!] religio-Hawai’ian shirt-whatever has come out in favor of Prop 8, a Yes on 8.

8. Madman in the Marketplace - 25 October 2008
9. Madman in the Marketplace - 25 October 2008
10. NYCee - 25 October 2008

Over the past couple of months Ive noticed that my aversion to Obama has dwindled. My disappointments have dulled, which had reached a pretty high peak, something I had not expected, but nevertheless, was real.

Maybe Ive been worn down into a more comfortable familiarity. Maybe he’s become less noticeably high horse these days in his words and affect. Maybe I dont notice the highly irritating mass worship aspect of his idolizing fans that I once did. Maybe the reality of McCain is too sharp relief craptastic. Maybe I dont see or hear the ubiquitous DLC aspect that infused Democrats’ talking points in 2004, that were dominant in 2000 as well. Maybe it’s that every day when I get off the subway coming home, Im at Union Square, where the park has a huge farmers’ market, along with arts n crafts tables, where I often shop for produce n stuff – there are tons of t-shirt vendors with Obama wares for sale, and now, on a farmer’s table, even pumpkins painted red, white and blue with a pro-Obama message!

Well, I havent bought the t-shirt or the pumpkin, but I guess I’m in line with worn out ole Noam. (Didnt watch the video, but caught the message) I voted for BO in the primary and it looks like I will in the GE as well. There is nothing else happening, nothing out there in our political landscape. The lesser of two evils is more of the good than the more of two evils. That’s good enough for me, at this point.

And while I have no eye on a Messiah, but I am able to feel pleased that we have an African American poised to win. I can enjoy this, unlike if it were Harold Ford.

Maybe Obama will be a shitty president. I dont know. I just know it’s no skin off my choppers to cast my little vote for him, give him an extra little drop in the bucket of a mandate to send him on his way to prove otherwise, if he is so inclined. I reserve the right to bitch like hell, if not, because that’s about all we got – our votes and our bitching. And our votes aint going nowhere else but for McCain or Obama.

11. Madman in the Marketplace - 25 October 2008
12. marisacat - 25 October 2008

People should do what they want with their vote… nothing else to be said or done with it.

The bright, dividing line for me is the same as 2004. Just not tossing my vote in ratification of the wars – and the endless militarisation – to come. LOL Worse, poor confused Kerry would have had me ratifying his decades long, quite apparent confusion over Vietnam. I just could not help him out with that one. Too hilarious.

13. diane - 25 October 2008

NYCee

Everyone I’m close to will be doing the same, and I would never fault them in such a hopeless choice, where it’s clear with the FISA cave in , that us public citizens have been made into the enemy no matter who we elect.

Me, not even sure I’m voting for the first time, because a short while back, I had what I believe was a FISA, or related experience and it’s left me absolutely shattered and on “potential enemy” alert ever since. Can’t even speak to the violation and the destruction it brings to a person’s sense of safety and well being. The hideous thing was the venal, venal nature of it, absolutely no sense for me that it was a matter of National Security.

14. NYCee - 25 October 2008

Oh … by the way, hi!

I have cat-astic news, or is that mews?

I got ‘assaulted’ by a feline love machine, aka an ASPCA van, parked just around the corner from my abode, two weeks ago. A giant kitty painted outside, rows of adorable cats inside.

I have been dipping my toe in the maybe-get-a-cat waters this past year, since my last cat death, in Jan of 06. (That was tough!) I was on my way to deposit a check and pick up a latte, the latter as a reward for cleaning more apt. shit, when I saw, and without hesitation fell for, the bait. “Can I come in?,” I asked the nice ASPCA volunteer just outside the van’s door. “Why sure!,” said she. In I went, and a half hour later, I had paid for a 6 month old thief of hearts, who, of all things, they had named Latte.

I had picked her up, after she was loving up the fingers Id inserted under her cage, and it was all over. She immediately went into full blast nuzzle, massage, snuggle mode, climbing up into the crook of my neck like a monkey. My boyfriend, who is a big cat person, has been bugging me to get one for the last year, so I called him up on the spot. He said, YES! Do it! So I did it.

She is just sweetness. She is a warm grey with beautiful dove and charcoal tiger markings. She has frosty blueberry eyes, I call them, because she had an eye infection when found, in an abandoned Brooklyn bldg, and it has damaged her eyesight. The frostiness is the scarring, but her eyes look beautiful to us – a slightly opaque, deep grey-blue. (I didnt even realize she was special needs till I got her home, later that night.) She hugs and loves and races around the house, chasing (and retrieving) balled up paper and cut up toilet paper rolls (the poor man’s cat toys? Lol, It’s what we had and they work.). She does have trouble seeing, which keeps her from climbing too high or jumping down too readily… but she does just fine.

So, we are a family with feline once more. Feels very nice.

15. diane - 25 October 2008

adding to my last comment, which hasn’t posted just yet as I write, I suppose the reason I don’t waiver from a belief in God, is that I do believe that evil, very much exists.

yet there is an undefinable mercy, scientifically unmeasureable, that ultimately exists. Yeah, Madman, I liked that post you made yesterday.

16. Madman in the Marketplace - 25 October 2008

Congrats on the new family member NYCee!

Just found this link somewhere or other: That Sarah Palin Is One Unreal Alaskan

In the Arctic where global warming is melting our world regardless of Palin’s lone charge against reality, her alleged appeal leaves many of us cold. With our long winters and tough trails, we still value a beaver hat and common sense more than high heels and clip-on hairdos. We simply don’t want another leader less intelligent than we are.

Eight years with the cowboy and copilot Halliburton at the helm has been hard on our land. Too much polluting, an unnecessary war draining our economy and both men too cool for global warming. We can’t afford to turn now to a beauty contestant and an old guy who’s acting like he’s run the Iditarod too many times without winning. (Beating his dogs, he’s so desperate to win.)

17. marisacat - 25 October 2008

“Why sure!,” said she. In I went, and a half hour later, I had paid for a 6 month old thief of hearts, who, of all things, they had named Latte.

Too perfect! You went for a latte… and got one!

Baby had one eye removed, even before she moved in here — it had been clouded over even before removal. She never was interested in more than jumping up to or down from a chair seat or the bed height. NO desire to jump the 7 or 8 ft wall at the back of the garden, whcih cats do jump…. Other than that she did fine til the last two years..

18. diane - 25 October 2008

(the unposted comment I referred to, has been posted Marisa)

19. Madman in the Marketplace - 25 October 2008
20. Madman in the Marketplace - 25 October 2008
21. diane - 25 October 2008

oooh new kitty….I’m glad for you NYCee, sounds like a sweet baby doll…(and thanks for the cleaning apartment comment..this is the second time, you’ve helped me get off my behind to get some cleaning done)

Have a great day all…………..

22. NYCee - 25 October 2008

I know! “Too perfect!” (Or is that purr-fect? lol … cannot resist) It really drives home the adage that it’s best to wait till the time is right… I’d resisted my boyfriend’s nudging over the past couple of years because I just wasnt ready. The ASPCA had her since infancy, so I might have gone there when I wasnt ready and not realized she was The One. She definitely had the drive and ability to pick me, when I was looking them all over, and it’s all so right.

In the past year, I’d wandered into a big PetCo store by Union Square a few time, to dip my toe in cat adoption (they have a cat adoption niche inside, under the organization of Kitty Kind) and the cats and I just didnt connect like with Misty.

I named her Misty Willow. It isnt a name that grabbed me (like she did), when I saw her… I had to go fishing around for it, but she just didnt present me with one, as my other cats did (Sauccison, Marcel, Lulu). But my bf likes it a lot, and it suits her look. And i guess her vision… misty. So that’s it, unless I come up with a real bullseye alternative soon. (We also call her Misty Nuzzles (hugs), Misty Needles (claws), Misty Morning… the last I sing to her, that great Bob Marley song from Kaya)

Sounds like Baby in the jumping dept. Marcel, who would go out back via the fire escape each day, used to lounge on the concrete wall behind the laundromat’s bare bones patio, basically used for dumping trashed machines (also neglected by various subsequent ‘stores’… a whole ‘nother story!) Marcel jumped up there from the ground up. It was amazing to look out the kitchen window and see my glistening black bushy tailed beauty basking on a wall that looked to be ten feet high (no joke), between rows of curled barbed wire, no less! (Pre Giuliani times, ya know! Lol. Now its been renovated into a large moderne apt that gets a gazillion bucks in rent and has planters, benches, trees and a redwood fence sans barbed wire)

23. Madman in the Marketplace - 25 October 2008
24. NYCee - 25 October 2008

Marisa & Diane, #12, 13

As for your voting (or non-voting) choices, I am so non critical, as well. I like many of your critiques and linked pathways, Marisa. Diane.. I dont know what happened to you, re FISA scare, but that sucks:

Well, I am a sucker for voting, and he is who I want to vote for at present, of all the available choices. I guess I am a sucker, too, for the first black president. Of all the goof balls and old fuckers out there (and yes, Kerry was just so ick, soldier boy and all that, only wrapped in ABB to juice him), we could do a lot worse.

I know what OB has done, via FISA and his flips on other shit. His bizarre view on the death penalty. He doesnt stand up to the Lobby (who does?) He lies sometimes, obviously. He is not Mr Integrity par excellence, no shit. (All that ditto to the Dem party) A friend, from Tasini days, asked me to go to PA to GOTV, but I cant go that far a distance, figuratively speaking.

But he has his good points, beyond ABMcC, and he just may manage to knit us a few good rows, given what he’s got to work with, given our screwed up warp and woof. And The People have belatedly roused themselves to feel THIS IS THE MOST IMPORTANT ELECTION (where were they in 2004?!) and we aint gonna fall for Joe Plumber no mo’ and the war is fucked, etc, so maybe that’ll usher in the atmosphere that allows for a few more lengths of leeway to work with in a better direction. I am looking at it like this, for better or worse.

25. NYCee - 25 October 2008

thanks, madman. she’s all that and then some.

26. Madman in the Marketplace - 25 October 2008

Robots Hunt ‘Non-Cooperative Humans’ in Army Plan

Pagey calls it “trouser-moisteningly terrifying news.” The Army is looking to develop software and hardware that will let packs of robots chase down “non-cooperative human subject[s].”

The machine team would be 3-5 ‘bots, each about 220 pounds, led by a flesh-and-blood officer. Well, at least until the robots have the brains to “intelligently and autonomously search for objects” on their own. Then, the Army promises, the machines won’t just be good for hunting would-be John Connors. They’ll take on more beneficial tasks, too, like “search and rescue, fire fighting, reconnaissance, and automated biological, [and] chemical and radiation sensing.”

27. NYCee - 25 October 2008

Oh, so glad I could give you some good housekeeping oomph, diane.

Here’s one more for ya – If I can do it, ANYone can! I am clutter queen.

I am far from done, there is really still tons of clutter to conquer, but just doing a little corner, just clearing off a certain chair that became invisible, just having a little basket of your latest receipts all in one place (while previous receipts are still part of the flotsam miasma) is nice, and makes a difference afterwards. You take the whole day, eat nice treats, watch fun bullshit tv, whatever makes you feel good, and take your sweet time. That’s how I’m doing it. It will take months to be totally done, but that’s ok.

28. Madman in the Marketplace - 25 October 2008

David Byrne – 10.15.2008: Milwaukee

He writes the most interesting diaries about the cities he tours through.

29. Madman in the Marketplace - 25 October 2008

ACLU – ARE YOU LIVING IN THE CONSTITUTION FREE ZONE?

Using data provided by the U.S. Census Bureau, the ACLU has determined that nearly 2/3 of the entire US population (197.4 million people) live within 100 miles of the US land and coastal borders.

The government is assuming extraordinary powers to stop and search individuals within this zone. This is not just about the border: This ” Constitution-Free Zone” includes most of the nation’s largest metropolitan areas.

There is a map at the link.

30. marisacat - 25 October 2008

You take the whole day, eat nice treats, watch fun bullshit tv, whatever makes you feel good, and take your sweet time. That’s how I’m doing it. It will take months to be totally done, but that’s ok.

That actually is the ONLY way to clean, or sort of clean. A friend of mine used to clean wearing a face mask. That probably helps too.

But I come from a long line of non cleaners, back to great grandmother, whose line was, “you spend your life cleaning up dirt and then they bury you in it”…

What can I say, no matter my personal disgrace, the big white procelain stuff, kitchen and bath, is clean.

LOL

31. marisacat - 25 October 2008

29

anti gang, federal task force, ICE etc, is how they are taking us down.

I think one reason San Francisco and some cities in the SF Bay Area kept Sanctuary City status, most recently, was to keep some kind of line between city and state policing and federal agencies. To the extent they could.

Gavin (whether by design or not, I am unsure on thsi one) and the City BADLY [really really badly] MISMANAGED aspects of Sanctuary City — and I see us going down. Russionello, the Fed prosecutor who has been sitting on us for ages now [and a mean shit], has us by the neck.

I expect to see Kamala Harris, our Democratic party star (obviously and they tell us so) and DA to excape by fortuitous appointment to DC in an Ob administration.

The recent sweeps of Mongols (Hispanic, largely non white gang that took on Hell’s Angels) sweep in several states and then the take down of MS 13, also wtihin the city limits, sent the message. Russionello and ICE crowed. Kamala appeared on stage with them.

32. Madman in the Marketplace - 25 October 2008
33. marisacat - 25 October 2008

Apple, Google, AT &T, Pacifc Gas & Electric (PG&E) and others have all come out in favor of NO on 8. Money volunteers etc.

34. Madman in the Marketplace - 25 October 2008

Oh, so funny …

Atheists, enjoy life?

Far from relaxing and enjoying life, most atheists I have encountered are gloomy blighters with a depressing and nihilistic message that there is no purpose to life so where’s the point of anything? They so often fall into the category defined by GK Chesterton: “Those that do not have the faith/Will not have the fun.” You only have to attend one of their dreary humanist funerals to see that – I am never going to another of those, just to be made miserable.

I like some of the comments in reply:

boisdevie

Oct 24 08, 2:48pm

Far from relaxing and enjoying life, most atheists I have encountered are gloomy blighters with a depressing and nihilistic message that there is no purpose to life so where’s the point of anything?

Then get our more dearie. I’ve been an atheist for years and quite frankly I find your opinion insulting. Do I belive in God? No. I’m more likely to belive in faeries at the bottom of the garden.

Oh, and this:

housewhite

Oct 24 08, 2:50pm

They so often fall into the category defined by GK Chesterton: “Those that do not have the faith/Will not have the fun.” You only have to attend one of their dreary humanist funerals to see that – I am never going to another of those, just to be made miserable.

Yeah. I remember the last Christian funeral I went to. What a blast. Pissing ourselves we were.

stevehill

Oct 24 08, 2:52pm

Somehow I don’t see this riposte getting 2,062 responses…

Mary, I’m normal. I have religious friends and atheist friends. I have a sense of humour. I do stuff in the community. I love my family and enjoy their company. I respect and defend your freedom to believe what you like.

And I loathe and abhor your state-granted, taxpayer-supported rights to force-feed it down my childrens’ throats; your undemocratic right to appoint 26 unelected members of Parliament; my national anthem being a prayer; my head of state being a defender of “the” faith (as long as it’s not catholic); the facility with which religions (and Scientologists) are allowed to rip people off as compared with all the consumer protection legislation and cooling-off period surrounding conservatory sales, and a lot more besides.

If that makes me a gloomy blighter, it’s because religion has given me much to be gloomy about.

35. marisacat - 25 October 2008

that was a hoot!!

36. Madman in the Marketplace - 25 October 2008

GOP ‘goner’ list warns of House rout

An internal document circulating among House Republicans warns of an impending congressional bloodbath, listing 58 Republican-held House seats being at risk, and 11 already considered as good as gone. As many as 34 GOP-held seats are in serious jeopardy of swinging to Democrats, the assessment shows.

The state-of-the-race update, first reported on by U.S. News’ Paul Bedard, shows the GOP already writing off the seats of Reps. Tom Feeney (R-Fla.), John R. Kuhl (R-N.Y.), Don Young (R-Alaska) and Tim Walberg (R-Mich.). It also expects losses in the seats of retiring GOP Reps. Rick Renzi of Arizona, Jerry Weller of Illinois, Jim Saxton of New Jersey, Mike Ferguson of New Jersey, Vito Fossella of New York, James Walsh of New York and Tom Davis of Virginia.

Drafted by a Republican consultant, the document ranks seats on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the most likely for a Democratic takeover. Eleven members received a 5, meaning the seat is gone unless “a significant turn of events” changes things in the final two weeks. An additional seven seats are ranked as a 4, in the leaning Democratic category, and 16 seats are in the tossup category.

One well-connected Republican operative told Politico that the list, if anything, understated the number of members needing a political lifeline. The operative also said the GOP is all but writing off the seats of Reps. Marilyn Musgrave (R-Colo.), Joseph Knollenberg (R-Mich.), Michele Bachmann (R-Minn.), Phil English (R-Pa.), and the open New Mexico House seat of retiring Rep. Steve Pearce (R-N.M.), who is running for the Senate.

37. marisacat - 25 October 2008

LAT interactive… Prop 8 is the most funded, most expensive ballot measure in the country.

38. marisacat - 25 October 2008

36

Jeanne Cummings at Politico says this may pu the R back BEFORE 1994, when they won 54 D seats in the House.

All to the good, as many in the House, as many in the Senate as possible. No excuses, and NO whining.

39. diane - 25 October 2008

taking a small break from cleaning….actually, just my small opinion….but I think most of the loudest mouths, using “god” to slam people down, don’t believe in God either, which would make them atheists also, and the loudest pronounced athiests are every bit as ugly….where I imagine most of us really don’t know, but would surely love something beneficient to be going on in the universe…far beyond MAN’s clumsy AND ALWAY’S somehow lacking, many times lethal, CLAIM to GIANTHOOD and PERFECTION……. just my two cents……..but then again, justifying emotions, scientific evidence, which is always amended a long, or short while later, …..clever tags, and collar pins on white shirts underneath crewneck sweaters, along with $200 dollar jeans which look like they’re growing lethal mold will never fail to woooooooo folks………………my take is…who knows …but I like the ring of mercy, hugs and kisses at the end of the day………………..

NYCee, you really haven’t seen Clutter Queen..the good news is, that likely any theives comin through here would not find much of value to them, but much of it is real special to me …tons of sweet pics…my dad took, what a wonderful “photographer”..honed right in to that importance in time…even one of JFK that I’m not sure whether he took or bought as a slide in Dallas when he went there on a business trip right after the murder…tons of sweet pics of folks that really altered and made my life special…………………..tons of tools older than I,..made in a time…when people in the United States could actually make a living off of doing the right thing………………………..

40. Madman in the Marketplace - 25 October 2008

No excuses, and NO whining.

I’m personally looking forward to more incidents of indignant donks telling off activists in the halls of Congress.

Here’s hoping that activists and all of the various kool-aide drinkers actually demand they do something for the people rather than Wall Street, for a change.

41. diane - 25 October 2008

39 (currently)

well,…not actually..tons….but they serve to ground me while I remain here, as do the, more special, ethereal memories they impart…………….

where’s Intermittent Bystander…(how are ya hon?)

42. marisacat - 25 October 2008

41

more incidents of indignant donks telling off activists in the halls of Congress.

yes I am expecting more of that as well. LOL Dem leadership is now convinced, as never before, that in all they do, they are right.

43. Madman in the Marketplace - 25 October 2008
44. Madman in the Marketplace - 25 October 2008
45. marisacat - 25 October 2008

Yeah… but I never noticed that Sheldon was a born and nurtured Democratic whiner. Most of the others ARE:

THE MYTH OF 60

Sunday NY Times on a potential President Obama and big Democratic control of Congress.

Sen. Sheldon Whitehouse (D-RI):

“If the White House political team can’t figure out a way to get two Republican senators to vote with us between Air Force One, tea at the White House, U.S. attorneys and judges and dams and roads and ambassadors and all that other stuff, somebody should take them out to the woodshed.”

“Sixty is less a magic number than a zone.”

46. Madman in the Marketplace - 25 October 2008
47. liberalcatnip - 25 October 2008

Congrats on the new baby, NYCee! She sounds gorgeous.

48. Madman in the Marketplace - 25 October 2008
49. liberalcatnip - 25 October 2008


Alexander Cockburn: Obama, the first-rate Republican

Alexander Cockburn: Obama, the first-rate Republican

Is there anything the front-runner will not say to become President? No progressive cause would have a chance with him in charge

Sunday, 26 October 2008

As a left-winger I might be expected to be supporting Barack Obama. And indeed, in these last days I’ve been scraping around, trying to muster a single positive reason to encourage a vote for Obama. Please note my accent on the positive, since the candidate himself has couched his appeal in this idiom. Why vote for Obama-Biden, as opposed to against the McCain-Palin ticket?

Obama invokes change. Yet never has the dead hand of the past had a “reform” candidate so firmly by the windpipe. Is it possible to confront America’s problems without talking about the arms budget? The Pentagon is spending more than at any point since the end of the Second World War. In “real dollars” – an optimistic concept these days – the $635bn (£400bn) appropriated in fiscal 2007 is 5 per cent above the previous all-time high, reached in 1952. Obama wants to enlarge the armed services by 90,000. He pledges to escalate the US war in Afghanistan; to attack Pakistan’s territory if it obstructs any unilateral US mission to kill Osama bin Laden; and to wage a war against terror in a hundred countries, creating a new international intelligence and law enforcement “infrastructure” to take down terrorist networks. A fresh start? Where does this differ from Bush’s commitment on 20 September 2001, to an ongoing “war on terror” against “every terrorist group of global reach” and “any nation that continues to harbour or support terrorism”?

Obama’s liberal defenders comfort themselves with the thought that “he had to say that to get elected”. He didn’t. After eight years of Bush, Americans are receptive to reassessing America’s imperial role. Obama has shunned this opportunity. If elected, he will be a prisoner of his promise that on his watch Afghanistan will not be lost, nor the white man’s burden shirked…

50. liberalcatnip - 25 October 2008

Oh crap. I didn’t mean to copy & paste all of that extraneous stuff.

51. marisacat - 25 October 2008

50

think I got the extraneous out… ;)

52. marisacat - 25 October 2008

LOL Not that it is Noooooz or anything.

[B]y 2006, the party had moved aggressively, recruiting Bob Casey, a candidate opposed to abortion, to run for a Senate seat in Pennsylvania that he ultimately captured, and putting together a slate of eight House challengers who also opposed abortion. Six of those candidates won.

But this year, the party has not only gone to great lengths to recruit such candidates, it has also provided them significant financial backing, underscoring a new pragmatism within the party, said Kristen Day, the executive director of Democrats for Life, an anti-abortion group.

“This is the year that pro-life Democrats have received the most support from the party in Washington,” said Mrs. Day, whose group has argued for years that the party was limiting its reach by failing to cultivate candidates opposed to abortion.

Representative Christopher Van Hollen, chairman of the Democratic Congressional Campaign Committee, said the strategy may neutralize the advantage Republicans have enjoyed on social issues like abortion while allowing Democrats to emphasize areas of Democratic strength, primarily jobs and health care.

“You help take the wedge issues off the table in these districts and allow the Democrats to focus on kitchen-table economic issues that unite Democrats and have the support of independents and even some Republicans,” he said. ::snipwhip::

Oh puhleeze. What it does is put PROHIBITIONISTS in place. They get their spiritual or religious or small town finger pointing and damning rocks off on abortion but deep down they are DENIERS, banners and prohibitionists.

Abortion as a schtick.

And Not to Worry! One of ‘em even has her own personal ”I did it on Food Stamps” (raised the out of wedlock baby!) story.

Do you think they (and that would include Ob and Mrs Ob) could see to it that people don’t run out of food stamps, across the nation at the three week point (in a best case scenario)? If they are going to so shamelessly use what is a bare minimum subsistence program?

53. liberalcatnip - 25 October 2008

Thanks, mcat. :)

54. Madman in the Marketplace - 25 October 2008

SNL’s opening skit was a pretty funny riff on Biden’s “tested” thing.

55. bayprairie - 25 October 2008

LIGHTNIN HOPKINS ” GOIN DOWN SLOW”

i have had my fun
if i don’t get well no more.
i have had my fun
if i don’t get well no more.
you know my health is failing me;
and i’m going down slow

56. liberalcatnip - 25 October 2008
57. liberalcatnip - 25 October 2008

Number Of Homeless Families With Children Increasing

The most recent national count of the homeless done in January 2007, found just under 672-thousand people living in shelters or on streets in the U.S.

Many cities including New York, Minneapolis, Phoenix, Portland, Seattle, Atlanta, Boston and Denver say numbers are up substantially this year.

In the Big Apple alone more than 27-hundred families applied for shelter in September of this year, an increase of 660 over last year.

58. liberalcatnip - 25 October 2008

54. SNL’s opening skit was a pretty funny riff on Biden’s “tested” thing

“We may round up all French-Canadians.”

There goes half of Florida! :)

59. marisacat - 25 October 2008

god knows what Biden means. Couple of the schnauzers at The Corner wondered if the Dems have discussed a draft. I keep saying that might be one reason to shove the Dems back in, with their blither about Peace Corps [JFK!JFK!] and compulsory community service [USAUSA JFKJFK]…etc.

Who knows. Joe is still maggots and drool, as I see it. Now on the national stage.

60. diane - 26 October 2008

The most recent national count of the homeless done in January 2007, found just under 672-thousand people living in shelters or on streets in the U.S.

and that was likely the study that so many attacked as being way understated as to the numbers.

*****

And speaking of the voiceless millions, some much needed insight into a nasty myth:
Uninsured not what’s clogging Ers

” Despite common perceptions, uninsured patients with minor illnesses are not the primary cause of overcrowded hospital emergency rooms, according to a study released yesterday.

In fact, the opposite may be true. Those without insurance are less likely to visit the ER for non- urgent care because of concerns about cost, and are usually sicker when they do show up, according to the analysis, which appeared in the Journal of the American Medical Association.

“There’s this cultural perception that the uninsured are coming in every day for sniffles,” said Manya Newton of the University of Michigan, who led the study.

snip

Newton and her colleagues based their analysis on a review of 127 medical articles where unattri buted assumptions were made about the effect of uninsured adults in emergency settings. They then compared those assumptions against hospital data and peer-reviewed studies to test the validity.

Their conclusion was that exist ing data do not support widely held beliefs that the uninsured are the primary cause of overcrowding or turn to emergency rooms primarily for convenience.

“Policies based on inaccurate or simplistic assumptions have the potential to worsen an emergency care situation already in crisis and run the risk of further stigmatizing vulnerable populations, thereby worsening health disparities,” they wrote.

At his hospital, McGill said, uninsured patients show up sicker than patients with insurance, usually because “they try their hardest to take care” of the problem themselves, even using home remedies if necessary. But he said Somerset is seeing an “across the board” increase in use of the emer gency room by both the insured and uninsured.

About 17 percent of the 115 million annual emergency department visits in the U.S. are made by patients without insurance, the study points out. Last year, 45.7 million U.S. residents were uninsured, [wow, a whopping 15%] including 1.3 million in New Jersey.

snip

“And if you’re uninsured, many doctors won’t even see you at all,” said Newton, a Robert Wood Johnson Foundation clinical scholar and lecturer in the university’s Department of Emergency Medicine and Internal Medicine. “It’s a huge problem.”

61. marisacat - 26 October 2008

HA!

Neue threadddddd….

LINK

………………….. 8) ……………….

62. Oh to be a cat… « Marisacat - 11 November 2008

[...] NYCee’s Misty Willow…….. [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 169 other followers

