jump to navigation

Lost 17 July 2011

Posted by marisacat in 2012 Re Election, DC Politics, Inconvenient Voice of the Voter, Total fucking lunatics.
trackback


.
Since the 1960s Michelangelo Pistoletto has been an energetically protean figure. A founding father of arte povera, he’s created sculpture from rags, candles and bricks, photorealist paintings, and performances, with people always at the centre of his work. Here, he creates a labyrinth for visitors to wander through, as much a part of the art as the works they’ll find within its cardboard twists and turns. At Serpentine Gallery, W2, London, 12 July to 17 September    [Michelangelo Pistoletto, London]

********

Comments»

1. Madman in the Marketplace - 18 July 2011

Trapped in a heat wave here, though not as bad as down south.

marisacat - 18 July 2011

I heard over the weekend in some report that Milwaukee was one of the cities trapped in the extreme heat….

Stay cool!!!!!!!!

ms_xeno - 19 July 2011

We set a rainfall record on Sunday. Almost double the previous record from 1974.

While it’s nice that I don’t have to water the plants every day, it’s still weird. Our “dry season” should be in full swing by now, but it’s not.

I’d ship you some cool if I could. :/

marisacat - 19 July 2011

we’re chilly… over cast, fog, what they call our normal summer. Except we had rain straight thru June (it does seem over… ) Then we get heat. But it passes…

All I really care about is that our 3 summers of intense and extended heat (and more fires than could be coped with) seem over for the moment. Weeks, straight no break, of San Francisco with 90+ and near 100 degree days is a lot ot cope with…

gah.

(kiss the kitties)

ms_xeno - 19 July 2011

I was relying on the customary hot season to mellow out The Sid a little bit.

Instead, he’s cavorting around the house all night and into the wee hours of the morning stalking spiders and flies. He also took one bite out of rather large slug (it entered through a gap in the safety door) and left the rest. Bleah!

brinn - 19 July 2011

I wish you could ship us some of that rain!! Nothing significant since last FALL! It is brutal hot and dry dry dry here…every bug and rodent in the universe is trying to get inside just to find water….

How are you ms_x??

ms_xeno - 19 July 2011

brinn! Are you settled in from your move and stuff?

The last time I worked was for two week in late June/early July. (Do NOT shop at fucking AutoZone ever. What a bunch of fucking assholes.)

I now have about 5-6 weeks of Unemployment left. One interview for some PT thing in Darkest Suburbia this Friday afternoon. 9.50 an hour, which includes evenings and weekends. No compensation for the extra fare it’ll take to get out there, but I’ve had worse commutes than this one would be.

Also, I’ve decided that we’re having lentil salad for dinner in hrh’s honor. (Time flies.)

How are you holding up, Doll?

marisacat - 19 July 2011

I always figure things like Auto Zone are mafia or mob money laundering operations. The country is drenched in that crap.

(fingers crossed on the job interview…. )

ms_xeno - 19 July 2011

LOL.

If their management on my end was any indicator, I don’t think they’d be very good at it.

Thanks.

brinn - 20 July 2011

Oh, I’m holding up fine, all told. We are getting settled in (to both places) but there is still a lot to do/organize/unpack. I’ve been focusing on getting the boys’ environments organized, and setting up the area where I will be doing school with younger starting next month…my room is a mess of boxes and trash bags and an air matress….

I didn’t file a new claim for UI in June because I thought i had the summer figured out because I had 2300$ left in the “emergency” fund from 2009 that they were paying me out of. But no, they sent me a letter saying that I had to file a new claim, when I did, they told me that my weekly benefit had decreased from 333$ to 159$. I make a minimum of 130$/week and often upwards of 300$, so I decided it wasn’t worth it. Since my unemployment comp. was what was keeping from foodstamps (I made “too much” to qualify, yes, even with 2 kids), so next week, I’ll go spend a day in the welfare office applying for those…

And so it goes! :)

marisacat - 20 July 2011

I wonder how much they allot in Food Stamps for a family of one adult and two teen age or pre teen sons. Not enough, I am certain.

oh brinn, hang in there…

brinn - 20 July 2011

Oh, we’ll be fine…I can always go work a graveyard shift at a convenience store and/or Walgreens….though when I tried that about 5 years ago, no one would hire me. This time I leave my masters’ degrees off of the application if I go that route.

According to the “benefits estimator”, as long as I don’t make too much in any given month, I could receive anywhere from 250-562$ in SNAP funds, though jaysus, I cannot even imagine the amount of absolute crap (or sirloin steaks) that you’d have to buy in a month to use up that upper end….will keep you apprised ofthe adventure in getting assistance…

ms_xeno - 20 July 2011

brinn, if they give you the upper amount, throw a block party at the end of the month with whatever’s left over. ;)

marisacat - 20 July 2011

yeah be sure to spend it … one way or the other.

(as I await an overdue Safeway delivery… sigh)

marisacat - 19 July 2011

the drought seems to start in Texas, as I look at the map. For once they are NOT claiming we are in drought…

I’d ship you water if I could….

(How are you holding up, otherwise? Settled in, a bit at least?)

brinn - 20 July 2011

I know you would, Marisa — thanks! We’re doing fine, the boys are adaptable so all is well. I wish I could afford more gas so we could go up to the pool more often, but so far, we’ve been once/week.

2. Madman in the Marketplace - 18 July 2011

We’ve caught up with the rest of the country now, hot and muggy. Ugh. Just thought I’d pop in and say hi.

Madman in the Marketplace - 18 July 2011

the first reply didn’t show up at first … thus the double “hello”!

marisacat - 18 July 2011

helloooooooooooo helloooooooooooo

Calling into the abyss!
;)

3. marisacat - 18 July 2011

:lol: The Political Sex Show…..

David Cote, chairman and CEO of Honeywell, on “Meet the Press” roundtable:

“[I]t’s like both parties have a grip on each other’s throat and they’re more focused on simultaneous asphyxiation than they are on actually resolving the problem.”

IF they were doing that (which they are not) I would say hold on and SQUEEZE to both “sides”.

Madman in the Marketplace - 18 July 2011

it’s more like a tag-team con.

4. marisacat - 18 July 2011

I see our long national non-nightmare of Carmageddon is

O V E R.

Did that reek or what?

5. diane - 18 July 2011

Sniffs like murder to me… if not direct (which I suspect is quite likely), certainly a slow and torturous indirect murder, the nastiest sort of murder there is, to my mind…….

News of the World phone-hacking whistleblower found dead

Too funny, to read the piece one might think that Sean Hoare was the only one amongst his peers, and higher ups, who imbibed. Of course people imbibe in some kind of relief, when they’re trapped in a nasty environment …as do the nasty motherfuckers who puppeteer, though it seems for different reasons.

(hat tip to Jeralyn … some interesting commentary on pinging, I’d like to see more on internet pinging too.)

marisacat - 18 July 2011

Considering the y e a r s that this has dragged on, amazing anyone was killed (or suicided!) for leakage…

Thanks for that, off to read…

diane - 18 July 2011

you’re welcome honey.

marisacat - 18 July 2011

I read it… and found it to be so sad. I am sure that if he got those earlier injuries by a fall while decorating a childrens’ aprty that lots of people just assumed he was drunk.

The whole thing was sad.

diane - 18 July 2011

speaking of sad hon, did you see this one, over the weekend, …yes, I agree hon, as to the linked piece: sad is an extreme understating. …..Understating, … seems required by too many, because they don’t want to acknowledge the horror going on in our names. Alas, “the chickens,” (the MIC)…. will return home to roost at some point soon:

US drone strikes in Pakistan ….One man in Waziristan is documenting casualties

Saeed Shah in Islamabad and Peter Beaumont
guardian.co.uk, Sunday 17 July 2011 18.00 BST

For the past three years, Noor Behram has hurried to the site of drone strikes in his native Waziristan. His purpose: to photograph and document the impact of missiles controlled by a joystick thousands of miles away, on US air force bases in Nevada and elsewhere. The drones are America’s only weapon for hunting al-Qaida and the Taliban in what is supposed to be the most dangerous place in the world.

Sometimes arriving on the scene just minutes after the explosion, he first has to put his camera aside and start digging through the debris to see if there are any survivors. It’s dangerous, unpleasant work. The drones frequently hit the same place again, a few minutes after the first strike, so looking for the injured is risky. There are other dangers too: militants and locals are suspicious of anyone with a camera. After all, it is a local network of spies working for the CIA that are directing the drone strikes.

But Noor Behram says his painstaking work has uncovered an important – and unreported – truth about the US drone campaign in Pakistan’s tribal region: that far more civilians are being injured or dying than the Americans and Pakistanis admit. The world’s media quickly reports on how many militants were killed in each strike. But reporters don’t go to the spot, relying on unnamed Pakistani intelligence officials. Noor Behram believes you have to go to the spot to figure out whether those killed were really extremists or ordinary people living in Waziristan. And he’s in no doubt.

“For every 10 to 15 people killed, maybe they get one militant,” he said. “I don’t go to count how many Taliban are killed. I go to count how many children, women, innocent people, are killed.”

(bolding mine)

marisacat - 18 July 2011

I did not see that particular report, but did see reports about him and wow the big surprise (to many Americans, if any of themm are reading) that it mostly kills civilians.

But as I see it, that is how we do things. So water/ duck/ back, etc.

6. diane - 18 July 2011

as to the remaining Hillary fans out there, …The Hill…., …certainly supports, nay,…actually she Praises ……Austerity Measures ….for the voiceless, …despite their labors;……which means she supports a slow, torturous death, for the ‘voiceless.’
[Hillary] Clinton praises ‘vital’ austerity measures in Greece

diane - 18 July 2011

(and, …well yeah, ..she does look rather well fed, ….and then some!, … in that prefacing piccy, … to be claiming others need to be deprived of sustenance ….)

ms_xeno - 19 July 2011

Never fear. You can be down and out and still look “well fed.”

And the folks who finger-wag at people like me over our weight can be found in pretty much every political circle I’ve ever visited. >: I can think of one occasional visitor to this space who was a complete asshole about it. My fond hope is that while on one of his “fitness” ski trips or whatever, he crashes into a tree and breaks both legs.

diane - 19 July 2011

I’m very sorry ms xeno, my comment wasn’t focused around slamming people about their weight. It was focused on Hillary having gained a lot of wieght in recent months while, at the same time Praising Austerity (eating peas) for the masses, when it’s clear that even in the US millions of people are having issues around hunger.

While I do mean what I said about her specifically, I probably shouldn’t have commented on it, and I’m sorry, please accept my apology.

ms_xeno - 19 July 2011

No worries, diane.

I agree that the austerity mavens are full of crap, for sure. It’s just that I don’t use either weight gain or weight loss as a barometer of human virtue, either at the supper table or away from it. ;)

diane - 19 July 2011

I’m glad you’re not pissed at me hon. ;0)

I wasn’t using weight loss as barometer of virtue, I was basically commenting on why Hillary praises the fact that others are being forced to minimize needed sustenance, while she does whatever suits her, and then some.

ms_xeno - 19 July 2011

Well, yes. She does.

But you can’t tell just from looking at a person’s size what causes them to gain or lose. Polycystic ovaries, for instance, can cause weight gain. Polycystic kidneys can cause weight loss.

To cite just a couple of examples.

I’m probably as far from being an HRC fan as anyone can be, but I really don’t give a flying leap whether or not she had an extra slice of pie with dinner last night or not. It’s not like I can determine this just by seeing her picture.

Just like I roll my eyes when I see a smug “Leftist” bumper sticker that says something like “Animals and trees disappear to make room for your FAT ASS.”

As if there was no such thing as a skinny person in this culture who consumed “more than their share” of something. (No fat people take buses? No skinny people live in McMansions? I find that hard to believe.) It gets tiresome.

diane - 21 July 2011

I do realize that there are many reasons besides eating that people gain weight, I know even many prescription meds can add unbelievable weight gain; but I’m not going to give Hillary that benefit of the doubt as she clearly hasn’t given the masses the benefit of the doubt. It wasn’t about her being fat, it was an analogy of her having free access and cutting off others at the knees, and in my anger I used the simplest analogy possible (for the record, I don’t consider her ‘fat,’ in that picture, just having put on a lot of weight.)

The only thing I apologize about is hurting anyone’s feelings outside of Hillary and the Austerity for the Masses crowd. Again, I am sorry about that, …my point wasn’t at all that being thin is virtuous, that was the last thing on my mind. I’m aware there are more than enough “perfect weight” pricks to go around, and then some …perhaps more of those than the skinny, and “fat.”

7. marisacat - 19 July 2011

I am puting together a Safeway order for tomorrow delivery………. and all I can say is prices are S C A R E Y.

Yikes.

8. diane - 19 July 2011

Speaking of persons murdered at the hands of the obscenely powerful, via torturously slow the perfect crime methods, Glenn Greenwald has a good piece up on the $$$$$UZ$$$$$, murder by suicide victim, Bruce Ivins, and Anthrax US ™ .

But, of course, in the U.S., the nation’s most powerful political and financial factions — especially those who control the National Security State — are immune from meaningful scrutiny and investigation. As a result, President Obama — in what I think is one his most indefensible acts – actually threatened to veto the entire intelligence authorization bill if it included a proposed bipartisan amendment (passed by the House) that would have mandated an independent inquiry into the FBI’s anthrax investigation. Democratic Rep. Rush Holt, whose New Jersey district was the site where the letters were allegedly mailed and one of the bill’s sponsors, said at the time he was appalled that “an Administration that has pledged to be transparent and accountable would seek to block any review of the investigation in this matter.”

(bolding mine . Personally I’ve always thought Cheney, GW et al, should have been interrogated over that one, and that the death of the first victim, Robert Stevens (a photo editor rumored to have compromising photos of GW, …If I’m not mistaken his wife filed a lawsuit regarding the lack of investigation, and sleazebag Rudy Giuliani. set up an anthrax cleaner upper, Bio-One Solutions LLC, in the same building the victim worked in ), should have been focused on far, far more than it was.

The photo files could be among the most hazardous items ever on the site. It was a photo editor for American Media, Robert Stevens, who died after being exposed to anthrax at the tabloid publisher’s offices in October 2001. ….

marisacat - 19 July 2011

IIRC every major national arm of media got hit with anthrax… by which I mean, CBS, NBC, ABC… the tabloid in FL…. AND they used a US government arm to disperse it, the US Mail…. AND they hit enough in congress to radically change what little bother anyone ever paid to incoming hand written letters.

It was pretty masterful… whoever did it. Plus whatever aspects of it we were never allowed to know about.

diane - 19 July 2011

Yeah, it certainly wasn’t any one man plan, and it radically altered things. I’ve got my money on Cheney/Bush for two at the core of it. As regards GW, I think Robert Stevens was a twofer, which someone allowed him as a ‘trophy.’

(and sorry I fucked up the blockuotes, I should have inserted an end blockquote at the end of the first quoted paragraph, versus a new blockquote.)

9. Madman in the Marketplace - 19 July 2011

Heritage Foundation Guy: You Don’t Count As ‘Poor’ If You Own A TV

The actual living conditions of America’s poor are far different from these images. In 2005, the typical household defined as poor by the government had a car and air conditioning. For entertainment, the household had two color televisions, cable or satellite TV, a DVD player, and a VCR. If there were children, especially boys, in the home, the family had a game system, such as an Xbox or PlayStation. In the kitchen, the household had a refrigerator, an oven and stove, and a microwave. Other household conveniences included a clothes washer, a clothes dryer, ceiling fans, a cordless phone, and a coffee maker.

You MUST be in a tarpaper shack and wearing burlap clothes or you’re not “poor”.

marisacat - 19 July 2011

It all seems to hang off the damned TV.

Two years ago a comment slithered out of the West Wing, one of the Great and Holy Obama-[sh]ites said they did not know why they ”bothered” to send a one time 250.00 to SS and SSDis recipients, “as all that happened was peopl used the money to buy new digital TVs”.

Yup.. I did do that. Yes I did. Yes indeedy.

Like so many DLC and Third Way Democrats, they and Heritage types are all the same.

Madman in the Marketplace - 20 July 2011

Apparently you’re to become utterly isolated from the community, clothed in rags, with a leaking roof ….

10. BooHooHooMan - 19 July 2011

Announcing Daily Kos Labor
by kos

woo hoo.

Oh Yah- A big shout out, BIG Shout out to the vanguard of the union movement over there at Kos Media, LLC~~
A Business Where the Owner Can Do Whatever He Wants™.
:lol: :roll:

marisacat - 19 July 2011

Are they sure his wif is not just popping out another kid?

BooHooHooMan - 19 July 2011

ANOTHER mouth to feed?
And so soon after having Chris Bowers?!?

(Baby needs a new pair of balls)

marisacat - 19 July 2011

oh very funneeee.. I forgot they adopted Chris Bowers. And HIS wif too I bet.

BooHooHooMan - 19 July 2011

Oh Ya- Beautiful wife and kids and kid with wife.
The whole deal..
‘couurse, discovering the Labor movement and all.
They were all just a little late. LOL.

marisacat - 19 July 2011

if only they’d all give birth in a bathtub and drown themselves while at it. Maybe Grover N can help.

(not that I care, I have trouble remembering Kos’ name and that of a few of the other usual criminals)

11. BooHooHooMan - 19 July 2011

Before We Panic, Take a Breath:
“Obama Tries to Box In House GOP”
by TomP
387 comments 200 Recs

Panic in SOLIDARITY, People! :lol: :lol: :lol:

marisacat - 19 July 2011

all that chess playing on Saturn. Or whereever!

We are blessed!!

BooHooHooMan - 19 July 2011

Blessed! :wink:

BooHooHooMan - 19 July 2011

LOL
all that chess playing on Saturn

We survived! We have a deal! NO?!!!
Once More! Quick! To the Escape Pod! Everybody! RUN!

marisacat - 19 July 2011

All’s I know is everybody’s numbers are dropping.

I am just catching up to Tea Party Florida poopchick slinging trash at Debbie Wasserman Schultz… I have to scrape up entertainment where I can (he told her she is not a lady, that gave me a horselaugh. A few horselaughs, actually).

He looks like the reincarnation of George Washington Carver… and well, we all know about Debbie. They are more alike than anything else.

12. BooHooHooMan - 19 July 2011

My, my, my golly gosh.
Barry is getting fucking crushed in the tracking polls.

I mean,….Oh.FiddleShits..

Can’t somebody like, you know, Markos come out with a poll to smooth things over? Been there? Done that?

BooHooHooMan - 19 July 2011

Whoopsie!
LINK

marisacat - 19 July 2011

One of the polls in the past day or so, is clearly showing Slobster is fast losing Independents or Decline to State-ers or whatever they call that group. They are in some big fat messy reaction to the DC Debt Follies A Go Go.

Deck chair anyone? Opera glasses for viewing the icebergs?

(Just at the moment I cannot see him able to win, but I go back and forth)

13. marisacat - 20 July 2011

New

LINK

………….. :roll:


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 169 other followers

