jump to navigation

FFS 19 November 2011

Posted by marisacat in 2012 Re Election, California / Pacific Coast, DC Politics, Inconvenient Voice of the Voter, Occupy Wall Street, WAR!.
trackback


.
6/23: Lieutenant John Pike walks up and down the line spraying students in the face    [Image: Wayne Tilcock, The Davis Enterprise – from a gallery at BI]

So, does Lt John Pike feel bigger and better now that he has marked his territory?

FFS.

*****

I lifted this from a link Madman provided in the last thread..just the arrangement of the Mic Check is much more expressive of how it went down than the version I first read:

[T]he attack on the students is provoked by nothing except their refusal to obey police orders. The usual chaos ensues for a few minutes. Victims shriek in pain, while some in the crowd frantically search for water. Several of the protesters are cuffed and dragged away, rather than receiving the medical attention they need. It is outrageous. It is unforgivable. And then something amazing happens.

The remaining students, who far outnumber the contingent of police, slowly start to encircle the officers while chanting “Shame on you!” The chants get louder and more menacing as the crowd gets closer, herding the police into a defensive huddle. Officers raise their weapons toward the crowd, warning them to back off, but at this distance and in these numbers, their riot gear would offer them little protection should crowd suddenly charge. Sensing their advantage, the students change their chant to the more defiant “Whose university? Our university!” Tensions rise. One twitchy trigger finger and anything could happen. Then a lone voice initiates the familiar call and response of the human mic:

Voice: “Mic check!”
Crowd: “Mic check!”

Voice: “We are willing…”
Crowd: “We are willing…”

Voice: “To give you a brief moment…”
Crowd: “To give you a brief moment…”

Voice: “Of peace…”
Crowd: “Of peace…”

Voice: “In order to take your weapons…”
Crowd: “In order to take your weapons…”

Voice: “And your friends…”
Crowd: “And your friends…”

Voice: “And go.”
Crowd: “And go.”

Voice: “Please do not return…”
Crowd: “Please do not return…”

Voice: “We are giving you a moment of peace.”
Crowd: “We are giving you a moment of peace.”

The crowd then starts chanting “You can go! You can go!”, and after a few moments the police turn their backs to the crowd and do exactly that, wisely taking advantage of the offered truce, and eliciting cheers and applause from the crowd. . . . .

Police Evicted from Occupy UC Davis after Pepper Spraying Peaceful Protesters

Comments»

1. diane - 19 November 2011

Welp, that’s that, … everyone in Cali and beyond saw Jerry, the Dem, Jesuit Brown, who, as Governor of Cali, is also officially the president of the Board of Regents of the University of California ‘system,’ condemning that brutal UC Davis incident, as the First [Tweeting] Dog, Sutter, and Mama/Consort Anna [Jack in the Box] Gust, stood firmly by our CA PAPA.

No? …. yeah, didn’t think so ….. NOT

(I’m sure Jerry and Consort have been even far more involved than Quan was regarding Oakland, in the oppression on Occupy across the state.)

diane - 19 November 2011

in other lurvely, Golden Showers Cali noooze, which I’m sure all those Cali Jesuits are absolutely beaming about:

http://www.californiality.com/2011/11/catholic-church-buys-crystal-cathedral.html>Catholic Church Buys Crystal Cathedral
November 18, 2011

The Crystal Cathedral will become a Catholic cathedral, now that a federal bankruptcy judge has ruled that the megachurch will be sold for $57.5 million to the Roman Catholic Church.

yes, …. that Californiality website, is pretty creepy; …. though, I’ll admit, I did find this there:

Spy Planes Over California
November 17, 2011

Spy planes will soon be flying over California on police surveillance missions, spying on citizens, tracking all movement and videotaping all activities.

Filmed surveillance by spy planes overhead has never been forced on American citizens — until now. California is, once again, first in the nation.

The city of Lancaster, California will be the first city in America to use U.S. Army, NASA and CIA technology to spy on citizens.

Lancaster, located in northern Los Angeles County, is the largest and most populated city in the entire California desert and is situated next to Edwards Air Force Base.

2. ms_xeno - 19 November 2011
diane - 19 November 2011

wow, that shot in the bottom left corner …so many of the riot cops remind me of hideous, EMPTY BOTS…….

ms_xeno - 19 November 2011

TBH, since the Bush protests I make a point of not looking at them directly. That shit they wear is so calculated to make people panic. It really is meant to invoke something “bigger than life” that is not in actuality alive.

I’ll get out of their way when they tell me to, but I won’t look at their faces. There be dragons, as the cliche’ goes. :/

diane - 19 November 2011

That shit they wear is so calculated to make people panic.

Yeah, and they’ve honed it to a fine art, probably had dozens of conferences with muckety mucks in the APA. The one thing I like about eye contact though, is looking at those who clearly know they are engaging in somethingwrong, I’m remembering a woman cop who looked like she might soon break into tears, and wouldn’t return my look.

3. Madman in the Marketplace - 19 November 2011

I’ve Never Prayed Before In My Life, But I’m Absolutely Desperate

Uh…hello? Anybody there? Man, this is so awkward. But I honestly don’t know what else to do. I’m really and truly at the end of my rope. I’ve never prayed before in my life—never really even considered myself the least bit spiritual—but I just feel so profoundly lost, and I have to give this a shot because…because I’m desperate, okay? I’m absolutely desperate.

How do I even do this? Do I just kneel down right here on a cloud and start talking? Is that how this whole praying thing works? You just talk and hope for the best, right? Well, here goes nothing: If someone is out there listening to me right now—oh, man, this feels so stupid. I sound like a fucking mental patient! Okay, okay…sorry. Let me start over: If someone—or something—is out there listening to me right now and can help me, I could definitely use it.

Christ. I have no idea what I’m doing. But this is all I have left.

I guess I should start by saying I’ve never been much of a believer. Always too damn proud, I guess. I suppose I’m just one of those totally self-involved supreme deities who never gives a second thought to the concept of, you know, an “ultimate presence” until they completely hit rock bottom. I’ve lived by my own rules and done everything my own bullheaded way since before time and space existed, and maybe it’s hypocritical for me to crawl back to some half-assed notion of faith right when I need a miracle.

But I’m not even asking for a miracle. All I want to know is that there’s something bigger than myself, a point to it all. I just feel so aimless all the time, like I’m in a trance or like I’m some sort of windup toy that just keeps walking into walls, you know? But if there were actually something more, then everything would make sense, and I’d feel like I was put into the heavens for a reason. I’d still have to figure out what my specific purpose here is, but if I got some sort guarantee from a higher power that there was in fact meaning and order to the cosmos, then at least I’d know I have one.

Just a sign. That’s all I need. Doesn’t have to be anything big. Just something.

Who am I, really? I mean, I know I’m God, but who am I? What is my nature, my essence? If you stripped away everything, my divine light, my robes, my omnipotence—all of it, until there was nothing left but the essential me—what would I look like? Hell, maybe I wouldn’t understand the truth even if it were revealed to me but…I just feel so powerless. How can I feel any other way when I’m not sure if I exist or what it even means to exist?

Someone has the answers, don’t they? I’m not just some infinitesimal speck floating pointlessly through a cold, empty universe, am I? Someone out there knows. Someone just has to.

heh

4. Madman in the Marketplace - 19 November 2011

that mic check thing at UC Davis is pretty amazing.

5. Madman in the Marketplace - 19 November 2011

Britain’s Occupy movement picks up steam

The fashion designer Vivienne Westwood, 70, became the latest high-profile supporter to address protesters on Saturday, on the steps of St Paul’s. She said that the global financial crisis was intrinsically linked to the world’s ecological travails, and called for people to embrace culture as a means to help wean them “off the drug of consumerism”.

Her appearance followed a speech from Alessio Rastani, an independent financial trader, who has warned that “the savings of millions of people are going to vanish” and that investment banks had become more powerful than governments. His warnings were followed by an address from Nicholas Shaxson, the author of Treasure Islands, an investigation into tax havens and offshore banking networks. Occupy’s critique of the financial system and its calls for a fairer replacement will continue next week with speeches at the TUC Conference Hall in central London, a sign that unions may be starting to form official alliances with the movement.

Unions are finalising plans for a day of industrial action against public-sector pensions cuts on 30 November.

marisacat - 19 November 2011

I hope I catch sight of Vivienne Westwood… she occupies such a unique corner, all her own..

6. Madman in the Marketplace - 19 November 2011

Open Letter to Chancellor Linda P.B. Katehi

Without any provocation whatsoever, other than the bodies of these students sitting where they were on the ground, with their arms linked, police pepper-sprayed students. Students remained on the ground, now writhing in pain, with their arms linked.

What happened next?

Police used batons to try to push the students apart. Those they could separate, they arrested, kneeling on their bodies and pushing their heads into the ground. Those they could not separate, they pepper-sprayed directly in the face, holding these students as they did so. When students covered their eyes with their clothing, police forced open their mouths and pepper-sprayed down their throats. Several of these students were hospitalized. Others are seriously injured. One of them, forty-five minutes after being pepper-sprayed down his throat, was still coughing up blood.

This is what happened. You are responsible for it.

You are responsible for it because this is what happens when UC Chancellors order police onto our campuses to disperse peaceful protesters through the use of force: students get hurt. Faculty get hurt. One of the most inspiring things (inspiring for those of us who care about students who assert their rights to free speech and peaceful assembly) about the demonstration in Berkeley on November 9 is that UC Berkeley faculty stood together with students, their arms linked together. Associate Professor of English Celeste Langan was grabbed by her hair, thrown on the ground, and arrested. Associate Professor Geoffrey O’Brien was injured by baton blows. Professor Robert Hass, former Poet Laureate of the United States, National Book Award and Pulitzer Prize winner, was also struck with a baton. These faculty stood together with students in solidarity, and they too were beaten and arrested by the police. In writing this letter, I stand together with those faculty and with the students they supported.

One week after this happened at UC Berkeley, you ordered police to clear tents from the quad at UC Davis. When students responded in the same way—linking arms and holding their ground—police also responded in the same way: with violent force. The fact is: the administration of UC campuses systematically uses police brutality to terrorize students and faculty, to crush political dissent on our campuses, and to suppress free speech and peaceful assembly. Many people know this. Many more people are learning it very quickly.

You are responsible for the police violence directed against students on the UC Davis quad on November 18, 2011. As I said, I am writing to hold you responsible and to demand your immediate resignation on these grounds.

That’s just the heart of the letter, there’s a lot more.

marisacat - 19 November 2011

Several of these students were hospitalized. Others are seriously injured. One of them, forty-five minutes after being pepper-sprayed down his throat, was still coughing up blood.

I read that one of the pepper sprayed at Davis was hosptialised for chemical burns… Not only the chancellor but the head of police at UC Davis (a woman named Scopazzi, I Think) should be gotten rid of.

Madman in the Marketplace - 19 November 2011

they should be in jail, and I hope those kids file suits against them personally.

wu ming - 19 November 2011

this town has an incredible amount of lawyers, and the university has a respectable law school. there will be suits.

Madman in the Marketplace - 19 November 2011

I hope not just against the school, and against the police force, but against them personally. I want that Lt. ruined. Take his house, take his car, take his fucking pension.

marisacat - 19 November 2011

I got the name of the woman pol chief wrong it is Scupizzi ugh NO it’s Spicuzza

What an awkward name.

Even Forbes has a piece up saying, this is not how you make a protest, which even they point out was not in anyway violent, this is NOT how you make it go away. Laughing at the UC Davis cops and authorities…

wu ming - 19 November 2011

these bureaucratic hacks always love to blather about “putting UCD on the map” and “building a world-class institution,” (implying that it wasn’t already so before they arrived), but katehi has certainly brought the university all sorts of global attention this week.

that’s why she’ll be forced to resign, is my bet. bad image, pissed-off alumni and parents, and corporate donors who don’t want to be tarred by association.

my guess is she’ll be given a golden parachute in not too long. the campus will not quiet down until she’s gone, except perhaps for a brief lull around christmas break.

marisacat - 19 November 2011

One of the disgusting things about the UC System, at least at the UC level and I would suppose certain of the Cal State campuses, they have made no secret they want, prefer too often, the higher paying out of state or even foreign students. Recruit and reduce space for Californians. Such fucking bullshit, imo. What a mistake.

Good luck with that with this high profile, being shown all over the world GOON tactics.. ESP as getting thru the damned schools is getting harder, in terms of picking up enough classes each session (or so I hear).

7. Madman in the Marketplace - 19 November 2011

Over 105,000 Signatures Gathered in 4 Days! + Photos from today’s Madison Recall Rally

The total needed for recall is about 540,000 within 60 days.

marisacat - 19 November 2011

How terrific!!

Madman in the Marketplace - 19 November 2011

I figured that the minimum threshold would be easily reached, but this quickly … they could have enough signatures in half the time needed. Hell, maybe faster.

marisacat - 19 November 2011

I hope they just keep on collecting signatures. Send in a million, if they can.

Madman in the Marketplace - 19 November 2011

I’ll keep you posted as news comes out here.

8. Madman in the Marketplace - 19 November 2011

Posts today at http://occupywallst.org/

Occupy Oakland Calls for TOTAL WEST COAST PORT SHUTDOWN ON 12/12

Posted 2 hours ago on Nov. 19, 2011, 8:35 p.m. EST

Drum Circle headed to Bloomberg’s Mansion. Liberty Square to be Occupied with Voices of Immigrant Women and Elders from the Civil Rights Movement

Posted 4 hours ago on Nov. 19, 2011, 7:03 p.m. EST

DC, Other Cities Liberate Unoccupied Buildings for the 99%

Posted 4 hours ago on Nov. 19, 2011, 6:38 p.m. EST

marisacat - 19 November 2011

West Coast Port Shut down…my old dream! A couple times I thought we might see t, once early in the Bush years, a WC Anti War labor move…

Who knows, it might happen.

AND I just heard that the Oakland Occupy as ”taken” the space at 19th and Telegraph, which they ad announced they would do… it is a fenced off unused (a small part is used.. I forget for what, a stray memorial maybe) but most of it is just haphazard grassy open area behind chain link. It is surrounded by about 8 blocks, 2 along each side, a mix of residential and business.

We shall see…

With the fucking wars spreading now into Kenya (as if much of Africa is not proxy wars for years) SOMETHING has to give. It has to…. Increased mil in the Asia Pacific… telling Australians we are just beefing up their bases, wha bllshite. We are declaring the mil junta in Myanmar as opening to democracy. MORE bllshite.

9. wu ming - 19 November 2011

so chancellor katehi and the police chief held a secret unannounced press conference today where they made lame rationalizations for why they had to pepper spray students in the face for “safety,” excluding students from the audience, but students found out and surrounded the building, linked arms, and chanted for like 3 hours with the chancellor stuck inside. the crowd, a thousand strong, repeatedly said via the mike check that they were peaceful and would allow the chancellor to leave the building, but she stayed inside and called the cops. the cops at some point balked at clearing the crowd (understandable given how the last such act ended for them), and after some discussion, the students rearranged themselves to make two long human chains, making a pathway from the door to the street.

finally, the students decided to sit down, in complete silence, to let the chancellor walk to her lexus. this is the footage of that walk of shame:

unreal, the level of peaceful discipline these kids have.

marisacat - 19 November 2011

and after some discussion, the students rearranged themselves to make two long human chains, making a pathway from the door to the street.

finally, the students decided to sit down, in complete silence, to let the chancellor walk to her lexus. this is the footage of that walk of shame:

It is just fabulous!

Madman in the Marketplace - 19 November 2011

and after some discussion, the students rearranged themselves

And showed who was really in charge.

diane - 19 November 2011

That sounds so beautiful!

10. Madman in the Marketplace - 19 November 2011
11. Madman in the Marketplace - 19 November 2011
marisacat - 19 November 2011

I saw that tank. All of these depts went crazy with post 9/11 money… and then ramped up Homeland Sec money and then anti -violent protest money. Anti terror money… anti immigration fderal money…Federal Cooperation Money… :lol: on and on.

BULLSHIT they don’t have money. They do.

12. Madman in the Marketplace - 19 November 2011
13. diane - 19 November 2011

Been poking around on and off today, looking for blog or ‘mainstream media’ traces of Governor Brown’s ‘response’ to both the UC Davis incident, and the Occupy movement in Califonia in general, which I’m sure he’s done plenty of behind closed doors, if not just as the official president of the regents of the UC system (who canceled their last meeting due to the disdain they’ve earned from Occupy Cal).

Of course if it were a rethuglican governor with so many instances of militarized riot police brutalizing citizens and college students across their state, there would likely be some ‘press’ on it, but the only thing I came up with as to Jerry, is that he left today:

November 19, 2011
Jerry Brown leaves California on vacation, destination unknown

Gov. Jerry Brown has left the state for parts unknown.

Brown’s office announced this afternoon that the Democratic governor had left the state, but it declined to say where Brown is going or for how long.

“We don’t discuss the details of his private vacation,” Brown spokeswoman Elizabeth Ashford said.

Not to worry, the Lieutenant Governor, Gavster, will be acting in his stead, and if anything comes up, like a major oil spill for instance, of course, ….he’ll disappear on his own, unannounced Vacation, (it’s a Cali thing.)

marisacat - 19 November 2011

Jerry is very adept at this sort of thing.

He often glosses over things… and frankly, I doubt he has gone to a single Regent’s meeting. That’w what boychick Gavin is for.

What a pair.

14. Madman in the Marketplace - 19 November 2011

Madison recall rally draws thousands

Madison – In a demonstration reminiscent of those that occurred in February and March, between 25,000 and 30,000 protesters took over Capitol Square on Saturday to protest Gov. Scott Walker’s policies and to promote a signature drive to recall him.

The petition drive must amass 540,208 signatures by Jan. 17 to force a recall election for Walker. As of Friday night, four days into the recall process, organizers had collected more than 105,000 signatures, according to the organizing group United Wisconsin. The claim could not be independently verified Saturday.

Many more people signed at Saturday’s rally, and others picked up blank petitions so they can gather signatures later.

Organizers have said their goal is 600,000 to 700,000 signatures.

The recall attempt has been in the works since February, when Walker introduced a bill to repeal most collective bargaining for public employees.

If the drive is successful, it would prompt only the third recall election for a governor in the history of the United States.

pic of big crowd at the link

marisacat - 19 November 2011

Organizers have said their goal is 600,000 to 700,000 signatures

MORE…. MORE!! :lol: Keep going… they have two full months…

15. BooHooHooMan - 20 November 2011

Lieutenant John Pike
530-752-3989
japikeiii@ucdavis.edu

BooHooHooMan - 20 November 2011

Address: 4005 Cowell Blvd, Apt 616.
Davis, CA 95618-6017.
Skype: japike3

BooHooHooMan - 20 November 2011

Cell: 530-979-0184

2010 Pay
Base pay: $116,454.00, Overtime: $0.00, Other:$0.00
Total pay: $110,243.12

marisacat - 20 November 2011

he makes too much.

Madman in the Marketplace - 20 November 2011

being a thug pays pretty well

16. marisacat - 20 November 2011

geesh… don’t make me laugh TOO hard now

In response to acts of hate and intolerance on campus in 2010, Katehi launched the Hate-Free Campus Initiative to reaffirm the campus’s values and commitment to one another.[13]

The initiative included creation of “Beyond Tolerance Tuesday,” collaboration with the Museum of Tolerance, and the creation of a speakers series and the Civility Project, which began with a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities…..

Greek born btw. Engineer.

Wiki: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Linda_P.B._Katehi

marisacat - 20 November 2011

Fortunately there is also this, so the whole thing isnot shit and shinola…

2011 Occupy protest incident

On November 18, 2011, Katehi ordered Occupy movement protesters on the UC Davis campus to remove their tents from the quad. On Katehi’s orders, riot police then cleared the quad of non-compliant protestors. When a peaceful group refused, while sitting on the ground with their heads bowed and arms interlinked, a UC Davis campus police officer coated them in pepper spray. A witness reported when students covered their eyes with their clothing, police forced open their mouths and pepper-sprayed down their throats. [15] Eleven protesters received medical treatment for exposure to pepper spray; two were hospitalized.[16] The incident led to further protests and calls for Katehi’s resignation. On November 19, Katehi called for creation of a task force to review the incident and report their findings and recommendations within 90 days.[17]

Sprayed it down their throats? No wonder some were spitting up blood. It ruptured membranes.

Drag the bitch off. Return her t the Greeks. Or snicker, give her to the Musuem of Tolerance (such bullshite)

marisacat - 20 November 2011

Apparently she has a Facebook page. I bet its a hoot.

Linda P.B. Katehi | Facebook http://www.facebook.com/pages/Linda-PB-Katehi/147754228574654 Cached
Want to like this page? To interact with Linda P.B. Katehi you need to sign up for Facebook first. Sign Up. It’s free and anyone can join. Already a member? …

Madman in the Marketplace - 20 November 2011

Health Hazards of Pepper Spray

In addition to precipitating broncho-constriction, which could manifest as acute asthma,OC spray exposure may increase the risk of laryngospasm and respiratory arrest. Two persons with asthma and one with chronic bronchitis developed respiratory arrest following OC spray exposure during arrest. Respiratory arrest also occurred in another person with a respiratory infection who was sprayed repeatedly.(3,10,15) Direct contact of capsaicinoids with the vocal cords has caused laryngospasm lasting 45 seconds. In addition, laryngospasm, laryngeal and pulmonary edema, chemical pneumonitis and respiratory arrest have occurred after intentional and accidental OC spray inhalation by children.(16,17)

In rodents, capsaicin-induced release of substance P stimulates mucus secretion, increases vascular permeability in the lungs, and exacerbates pulmonary inflammation associated with respiratory infection. Capsaicin exposure in the face of respiratory infection may increase vascular permeability 60-fold. Exposure during Parainfluenza infection causes a 3- to 5-fold increase in neurogenic inflammation of the airways, and, during Mycoplasma pulmonis infection, a 30-fold increase in neurogenic plasma extravasation that may last for several weeks. Unfortunately, there are no similar studies in humans.(5)

diane - 20 November 2011

One thing I do enjoy at times about the wikipedia, is perusing historic pages. Near the bottom of the page:

In July 2009, emails were revealed linking Katehi to secretive, improper admissions [1 – diane] of wealthy students to University of Illinois at Champaign. Previously, Katehi repeatedly denied knowing about those admissions, known as “Category I”. California State Senator Leland Yee has called to stop Katehi’s appointment.

1. I had to ‘update’ that link to the historic page (which is quoted from below), since, on the current University of Illinois clout scandal page, the following historic reference to her has been deleted:

Involvement of other schools
…. Documents surfaced that linked former provost Linda Katehi to the admissions scandal. Katehi is presently a chancellor at the University of California in Davis. After she was reappointed for a 7th term, evidence arose that she was involved in the admissions scandal, and California lawmakers have resisted her appointment on the grounds of her involvement with the clout scandal.

The SF Chronicle on the subject:

“At this point, I haven’t seen anything that would cause me to lose confidence in Dr. Katehi,” Yudof said Monday.

But state Sen. Leland Yee, D-San Francisco, continued his call for a halt to the appointment of Katehi, who as chancellor will earn $400,000 plus a house and other benefits. He urged Yudof to convene a review panel to look into the matter.

“With all due respect to Dr. Katehi, the story and answers she’s giving are just not believable,” Yee said. “She cannot claim she doesn’t know about these categories of privileged individuals, when in fact she directed a staff member to look into one of the applications.”

Early in 2008, Katehi received an e-mail from the campaign manager to the Illinois state treasurer providing information about a wait-listed applicant.

Katehi forwarded the application to the vice provost, asking for a status report. She described the student as “the daughter of a fairly prominent Greek family in Chicago.”

Specialty admissions uproar

Katehi, the treasurer and the campaign manager are all Greek Americans, as was the applicant, an heiress to a Chicago chocolate fortune, according to the Chicago Tribune, which broke the story of the specialty admissions in May and has continued its series as the state has investigated the scandal.

The newspaper said a Greek Orthodox priest had originally contacted the state treasurer’s office asking for help on behalf of the young heiress, whose name has been redacted from the university’s e-mails.

Some of the e-mails about the applicant are labeled “Cat 1,” indicating the category for special admissions. Applicants in this group had lower test scores but were admitted at higher rates than other applicants, according to the Tribune investigation.

Late decision’ admission

Eventually, in an e-mail copied to Katehi, Vice Provost Ruth Watkins suggested that the applicant be admitted under “late decision” – a method often used to slip underqualified applicants under the radar.

marisacat - 20 November 2011

Leland’s got time (did not win for mayor!), he l o v e s the TV camera…. he should get busy.

Dump the lousy bitch.

17. BooHooHooMan - 20 November 2011

Of course, Anonymous and The Underground
only goes so far in the reporting tho…

That’s why every capitalist pig needs LinkedIn: :lol:

Contact John for:

* career opportunities
* consulting offers
* new ventures
* job inquiries
* expertise requests
* business deals
* reference requests
* getting back in touch

:wink:

marisacat - 20 November 2011

Reach out and Touch Someone….

I think he is being called “Fascist Pig Fucker”…. quite a bit. Be interesting to see where this all ends up.

18. marisacat - 20 November 2011

This may not be news (I fall behind…), but I am just catching that a FOIA has been filed to find out what, who, why, etc., on the 18 mayors and whomever else (Lobbyists? Justice? Homeland Securitat? Etc. ) who colluded on a joint take down of Occupies.

Madman in the Marketplace - 20 November 2011

Considering that the words “frozen zone” keep popping up, I’m guessing homeland security, which would be Napolitanto.

19. marisacat - 20 November 2011

1:26am

Cops are moving in on the Justin Herman Plaza site here in SF….

(I am listening overnight to the weekend woman at KGO talk radio…. sounds like she will be spending most of the night on Occupy….

http://www.kgoam810.com/default.asp )

20. marisacat - 20 November 2011

News Update: “Several hundred cops” lined up with barricades..

21. Madman in the Marketplace - 20 November 2011

Interview with a pepper-sprayed UC Davis student

XJ: So, we see in the videos and photos that you were one of the students pepper-sprayed by Lieutenant John Pike yesterday. How are you doing today?

W: I still have a burning sensation in my throat, lips and nose, especially when I start coughing, or when I’m lying in bed. Everyone who got sprayed has sustained effects like this.

XJ: Can you tell us how it happened, from where you were sitting?

W: I’d pulled my beanie hat over my eyes, to protect my eyes. I received a lot of pepper spray in my throat. I vomited twice, right away, then spent the next hour or two dry heaving. Someone said they saw him spray down my throat intentionally, but I was so freaked out, and I was blinded by my hat, so I can’t verify. I did get a large quantity of pepper spray in my lungs.

Another girl near me who has asthma had an attack triggered by the pepper spray, and she was taken to the hospital.

He used military grade pepper spray on us. It’s supposed to be used at a minimum of 15 feet. But he sprayed us at point blank range. Another student, 20 years old, who was sprayed and then arrested—instead of receiving medical care for the pepper spray exposure, he was made to wait in the back of a police car. His hands were sprayed, and he had intense burning in his hands throughout the evening while he was being held. He asked a police officer what they could do to stop it, and they refused to give any advice.

XJ: Take us back to what led up to that moment. Friday’s protest wasn’t an isolated expression, or the beginning of the Occupy Wall Street movement on the university campus, right?

W: We’d been protesting at UC Davis for the last week. On Tuesday there was a rally organized by some faculty members in response to the brutality on the UC Berkeley campus, and in response to the proposed 81% tuition hike.

One of the reasons I am involved with #OWS, and advocating for an occupy movement on the UC campus, is to fight privatization and austerity in the UC system, and fight rising tuition costs. I think that citizens have the right to get an education regardless of economic condition. Most people are not going to get a job where they can afford to pay off student loans. But to exclude people from knowledge is unconscionable.

The #OWS movement is global, but it’s expressed locally in ways that are relevant to each city. People who are in NYC go to Wall Street. Oakland takes the port. At Davis, we have a university.

So the Tuesday protest was one of the biggest rallies on the campus since tuition hikes in 2009. That protest ended with a march around the campus, which led us to the administrative building. Sort of spontaneously, we all decided to occupy an area on the grounds and we stayed the night. The administration allowed it. I had a wonderful conversation with Lieutenant Pike that night. I dialogued with him for a while. He was cordial to me. He knew me by name. We offered him coffee and food.

We have a food collective, and we are organizing to feed the occupiers with food we grow at the student farm. It was all really lovely.

On Wednesday there was the big protest in San Francisco, and striking at the UC regents meeting over the proposed 81% tuition increase next year. The regents actually canceled their meeting because they knew we were coming, and they have since decided to do it by teleconference next Monday so we can’t disrupt them.

UC Davis police cleared out the 15 or so protesters who remained in Mrak Hall while the rest of the occupiers had left for the demonstration in San Francisco.

We had another rally on Thursday, with a big General Assembly. We decided to have an occupation against the injustices we were facing, and on Thursday night there were 35 tents set up, with more planning on coming.

There’s a lot more about what led up to the attack, and LOTS of pics. Worth checking out.

I’m impressed over and over again by how well-informed a lot of the people active in this movement are.

Madman in the Marketplace - 20 November 2011

XJ: What do you want from Katehi, and the UC system?

W: I can’t speak on behalf of the movement, I can only speak on behalf of myself. But I personally request that Chancellor Katehi and Lt. John Pike resign. We have a petition out there already. I request that a mechanism be set up for the impeachment of chancellors, and a system for democratic election of our chancellors. There is no good reason why students and faculty don’t make that decision. Even when a chancellor makes a decision likes this, they feel safe, because they’ve been appointed by the regents, and the goal of the regents is to make more money. They sit on the boards of big institutions like Bank of America, they are the richest of the 1%, and they’re using this institution to fatten their pockets and they’re putting students into debt to do that.

There will be a large rally on Monday at UC Davis, and I invited her to take part in our GA, if she’s willing to speak to us on our terms and operate on consensus method with no power dynamics.

She made a promise right there, on video, to come to our meeting.

I think she has done a terrible misdeed and that she and Pike should resign immediately so we can figure out a better way to run this institution.

wu ming - 20 November 2011

our history dept. is going to interview all of the students who had been sprayed, and publish it in a journal. i’ll let you know after it’s done.

marisacat - 20 November 2011

oh thanks for that!

22. Madman in the Marketplace - 20 November 2011

Another video about walk of shame.

marisacat - 20 November 2011

I am hoping she leaves. Pushed, jumps, whatevr.

Madman in the Marketplace - 20 November 2011

she looked scared to death at the end. good.

23. Madman in the Marketplace - 20 November 2011

police are trained to be abusive:

A law enforcement official who watched the clip called the use of force “fairly standard police procedure.”

The protest was held in support of the overall Occupy Wall Street movement and in solidarity with protesters at the University of California, Berkeley who were jabbed by police with batons on Nov. 9.

Charles J. Kelly, a former Baltimore Police Department lieutenant who wrote the department’s use of force guidelines, said pepper spray is a “compliance tool” that can be used on subjects who do not resist, and is preferable to simply lifting protesters.

“When you start picking up human bodies, you risk hurting them,” Kelly said. “Bodies don’t have handles on them.”

After reviewing the video, Kelly said he observed at least two cases of “active resistance” from protesters. In one instance, a woman pulls her arm back from an officer. In the second instance, a protester curls into a ball. Each of those actions could have warranted more force, including baton strikes and pressure-point techniques.

“What I’m looking at is fairly standard police procedure,” Kelly said.

marisacat - 20 November 2011

ugh… I think it is actually identified qs a “pain + compliance” tool.

There is a horrible precedence here in Cali…. a protest that was a sit-in (iirc) in a state senator’s office, up in Humboldt, against logging practices. In that incident, the pepper spray was directly swabbed into te eyes of the protesters, not sprayed at a distance.

The court upheld the practice.

IF ONLY people could figure out we are overlorded by Tsars and Tsarinas. No matter the administration, no matter the color of the skin of the elected.

Madman in the Marketplace - 20 November 2011

The Atlanic has a long piece on the history on the development of the current form of policing militarized control of the citizenry.

Unlike the author of the piece, I refuse to feel bad for police like the good abusive Lt. People CHOOSE to become that sort of cog in the societal machine, and one can tell from his body language that he ENJOYED the theatricality of torturing those students. HE LIKED IT.

marisacat - 20 November 2011

oh the whole idea of feeling bad for Pike (or the Chancellor) is such a crock of shit. What propaganda.

Thanks for the link.

marisacat - 20 November 2011

oh for fuck’s sake. No every thing Baldwin said was minted by god. By a long shot. What horsehit.

[a] James Baldwin passage that I’ve read many times came back into my mind. Here’s what he had to say in the New York Times about Jim Clark, an Alabama sheriff and staunch civil rights opponent whose state troopers viciously attacked peaceful protesters.

[Clark] cannot be dismissed as a total monster; I am sure he loves his wife and children and likes to get drunk. One has to assume that he is a man like me… Something awful must have happened to a human being to be able to put a cattle prod against a woman’s breasts. What happens to the woman is ghastly. What happens to the man who does it is in some ways much, much worse.

Baldwin recognized that Clark was merely the endpoint of a system that shaped the sheriff just as it shaped the people the sheriff attacked.

I am sorry, that is just reprehensible. You can be sorry or sad that a nation is so brutalised, but what bullshite to hold in greater sympathy the torturer above the tortured.

Madman in the Marketplace - 20 November 2011

pissed me off.

marisacat - 20 November 2011

Jimmy had far too much sympathy for the plantation owner. And the hired overseer. Maybe aside from the itinerant homosexual street life in Paris (and Istanbul), he felt better away from the classic, historic American white protagonist. Thw white owner class and their henchmen.

FFS.

marisacat - 20 November 2011

And it is a short article, the author, Madrigal, hangs the ntire fucking thing off Baldwin (he really does, leading off iwth thatmess) and the other source he relies on, Gillham…

diane - 20 November 2011

IF ONLY people could figure out we are overlorded by Tsars and Tsarinas. No matter the administration, no matter the color of the skin of the elected.

The sheer unblinking and unquestioning acceptance, adoration even, of that term, under that other spelling, Czar, as used by the Demoratic Obombster Admin, and Demoratic, underling Governors, et al … (seemed like every day early on, there was yet another Czar!!!!!!!! Appointment!!!!! being announced, with no one, certainly none on the major blaaaawgs, condemning that concept.), was mind boggling, and a dead giveaway that nothing was going to change from the Monstrous Cheney/Bush reign, and would in fact get exponentially WORSE, …as it certainly has.

marisacat - 20 November 2011

oh that all started under I forget who now. Some admin before Poor Slob and the Consort-with-Arms had czars running all over the place. I esp remember “drug czar”. Maybe it was Reagan. Slob so loves him.

I think finally the Slobster admin did shut up about their czars. The last one I remember was Rattner. Wasn’t he Car Czar or some such silliness… That didn’t go too well.

diane - 20 November 2011

Yeah, the term has been around for awhile, but I don’t remember hearing it quite so ironically ( given the prior devastation of the Cheney/Bush) frequently, or loudly. Nor do I remember it so frequently used in mainstream print nooz headlines, with no irony, whatsoever, involved.

The last Czar appointment I recollect, was this one, by that fleck of SHIT, Empire of California [Tsar] Governor, Jerry Brown, on August 18th, 2011; it made me sick to my stomach, even though I wasn’t shocked:

Gov. Jerry Brown appoints jobs czar

California’s new jobs czar, former Bank of America and GMAC executive Michael Rossi, will serve as a liaison for businesses, labor and Gov. Jerry Brown’s administration.

August 18, 2011|By Michael J. Mishak, Los Angeles Times

diane - 20 November 2011

(People loudly condemned that NASTY SHITBAG, Reagan , for his linguistics. The irony of it’s use (and stunning acceptance by libewals), by the DemoRat Obombster Admin, Tsar Brown, et al, … is unmatched, in my mind.)

marisacat - 20 November 2011

oh Democrats FUSSED at Reagan. They barely opposed him. They used him for retail election purposes…. And now they meekly kowtow to the overriding luv for him.

And sure Slob loves him. He likes the R, Winger, conservative, white male. Maybe a slice or two of Jimmy Baldwin in him.

diane - 20 November 2011
24. Madman in the Marketplace - 20 November 2011

Former JPMorgan Banker: Exploiting Consumers Is ‘The Purpose Of The Banking Organization’

David Mooney, chief executive officer of Alliant Credit Union in Chicago, one of the nation’s larger credit unions, used to work at a one of Wall Street’s top banks, JPMorgan Chase. There’s a vast cultural gap between Wall Street and his new world, he says: Old friends from the Street, he says, now jokingly refer to him as a “socialist.” A credit union is supposed to be run in the interests of all members, he says, while commercial bankers tend to see consumers as customers who can be “exploited” by layering on more fees.

Says Mooney: “I don’t say this lightly, but the consumer is simply an income stream and exploiting that is the purpose of the banking organization.”

BooHooHooMan - 20 November 2011

well, the Banksters and their minions have long since moved in on the credit unions, ~ what – …top laden with political hacks and union fixers , so many are already there…and not saying that MYM to credit unions isn’t a good idea, – it is – depends on the credit union obviously, people are getting hip, the great thing being the awakening once again to the glories of the Boycott, the economic sanction we all hold, however small when isolated if we’d only use it en masse – –
and I’d concede there is the possibility for activist targeting within CU’s… namely ,proxy wars for votes to lay seige to their boards, those charters, and , most importantly to the Banksters, their strawmen CU operatives and their put-out zombies looking for refuge and the last nicke to loot: those credit union investment pools. …but the Banksters lawyers and fixers , long seasoned in mergers and aquisition, hostile takeovers, have also stacked the deck with typical corporate countermeasures there too,

So what to do I say while calibrating a metal lathe….

I see this as a quick stop. Truth is, everything’s broke.
* Except, that is…. the will to resist.
And we know the PTB has their end covered.
Leaving only a matter of which camp one joins..

At the outset, seems to me,
measures clearing the civil opprobrium bar, like MYM , civil disobedience are essential lest a movement survive when first laid upon the curb…
But, navigating by sight now, and from the lay of the bloody land, the way this whole long bad trip looks to be going, I increasingly tend to think of them, like any of a handful of familiar installations along the road, like any rest stop or piss break while gunrunning….

25. Madman in the Marketplace - 20 November 2011

Police Chief Who Oversaw 1999 WTO Crackdown Says Paramilitary Policing Is a Disaster

Standing alone on the edge of the crowd, I, the chief of police, said to myself, “We have to clear the intersection.”

Why?

Because of all the what-ifs. What if a fire breaks out in the Sheraton across the street? What if a woman goes into labor on the seventeenth floor of the hotel? What if a heart patient goes into cardiac arrest in the high-rise on the corner? What if there’s a stabbing, a shooting, a serious-injury traffic accident? How would an aid car, fire engine or police cruiser get through that sea of people? The cop in me supported the decision to clear the intersection. But the chief in me should have vetoed it. And he certainly should have forbidden the indiscriminate use of tear gas to accomplish it, no matter how many warnings we barked through the bullhorn.

My support for a militaristic solution caused all hell to break loose. Rocks, bottles and newspaper racks went flying. Windows were smashed, stores were looted, fires lighted; and more gas filled the streets, with some cops clearly overreacting, escalating and prolonging the conflict. The “Battle in Seattle,” as the WTO protests and their aftermath came to be known, was a huge setback—for the protesters, my cops, the community.

More than a decade later, the police response to the Occupy movement, most disturbingly visible in Oakland—where scenes resembled a war zone and where a marine remains in serious condition from a police projectile—brings into sharp relief the acute and chronic problems of American law enforcement. Seattle might have served as a cautionary tale, but instead, US police forces have become increasingly militarized, and it’s showing in cities everywhere: the NYPD “white shirt” coating innocent people with pepper spray, the arrests of two student journalists at Occupy Atlanta, the declaration of public property as off-limits and the arrests of protesters for “trespassing.”

The paramilitary bureaucracy and the culture it engenders—a black-and-white world in which police unions serve above all to protect the brotherhood—is worse today than it was in the 1990s. Such agencies inevitably view protesters as the enemy. And young people, poor people and people of color will forever experience the institution as an abusive, militaristic force—not just during demonstrations but every day, in neighborhoods across the country.

marisacat - 20 November 2011

Seattle has been unnecessarily mocked and laughed at for 12 years. Once early in the ’00s, I landed while searching, for whatever, on some of the tactical and strategic crowd protest stuff that organisers of the WTO in 99 had up online. It was very very smart. I esp loved the use of what were called “Fluffies”…. people dressed in unusual colors or make up or things that glittered or glowed… they were dispatched to often skate into the middle of “problems” that were developing, either with agitprop agents provocateurs or just problems.

I lvoed it.

Madman in the Marketplace - 20 November 2011

I think a lot of the people working now learned a lot from that event.

BooHooHooMan - 20 November 2011

And while the cops were engaging the Bright Shiny Fluffies,
Black Bloc and ELF were slipping into VIP perimeters with WTO Ministerial ID….

26. marisacat - 20 November 2011

New

LINK

……………. 8)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 169 other followers

