jump to navigation

Oscar! 7 March 2010

Posted by marisacat in California / Pacific Coast, Inconvenient Voice of the Voter.
trackback

North Korea: Art squad members of the Korean People’s Army Large Combined Unit 264 perform for leader Kim Jong-il at an undisclosed location. Photograph: KCNA/Reuters

hmmm being an “art squad” member of the “Korean People’s Army Large Combined Unit 264” sounds so liberating, doesn’t it?

***************

As for the Oscars, I plan to watch – mostly because (and admittedly it is the only Oscar nominated movie I have seen) I loved Hurt Locker.   Want to see if she can pull it out for Best Picture, Best Director…or what.

In the West, ABC starts at 3:30 PM with preambles… and 5 PM for the show itself….

I see news reports that Cablevision and ABC in NYC have reached such a level of tiff (high tiffy whiffy?), that NYC will get no cable coverage of the Oscars. Bet people who have satellite are pretty happy… 😉

****

Another odd tidbit, as the people who make 20 mil a picture prepare to smile smile smile:   In a Times/Charles Bremner blog post on that massive deposit lost this past week by a Russian Gabillionzillionaire, about 50 million euros put down in 2008 on a palazzo on the Riviera – along the way Bremner reported that RE values on the Riviera have sunk, in some cases down 9/10th of what they had been in their bubble.

Well I don’t own a Toyota… and I did not lose a bundle in RE, on the Riviera or anywhere else.  Counting myself half lucky… 😉

***************************************************

Comments»

1. marisacat - 7 March 2010

Well! Glad they got this sorted out… I am usre that at some point today I caught a report that they, the ever present they, had had him “for days”.

snicker:

US-Born al Qaeda Arrest News Incorrect

CBS News – ‎1 hour ago‎

********************

Tho looking around NOT sorted out! — still loads of reports tht he is in hand.

brinn - 7 March 2010

Hi Mcat!

What do you think District 9’s chances are tonight?

marisacat - 7 March 2010

well… so little to no ”buzz” about it… I don’t know. Seems to me i heard more about it last year than this year… It is on my list at netflix but I have not seen it yet.

How are you doing brinn???

brinn - 7 March 2010

I am doing wonderFULLy! Seriously! Since I decided to
take the pressure off of myself, my producitivty has gone through the ROOF! More details should you be interested!

Thanks for asking — you’re the best! 8)

I almost fainted when I heard D9 had even been nominated…it really is an excellent movie, which of course, doesn’t bode well for it’s chances at the Os! heh.

I recommend it highly — didn’t see it in theatres, rented it one weekend last month when the boys were with their dad and watched it straight through a second time….

Haven’t done that since Gattica, which I also didn’t see in a theatre!

marisacat - 7 March 2010

I recommend it highly — didn’t see it in theatres, rented it one weekend last month when the boys were with their dad and watched it straight through a second time….

oh I will move it up, watch it next weekend maybe. I found the clips I saw of it ages ago (seems much longer ago than 2009 as it happens) very compelling.

So glad you are doing well.. details very welcome!

brinn - 7 March 2010

Er, well, let me qualify my recommendation just slightly, so you don’t think me the largest cheesball on earth, and without any kinds of spoilers, let me say that I watch movies on about 17 different levels at once — I am huge fan of cinematography and film in general, and script writing and character development in specific, I also love movies that make me think that they might actually make someone else who hasn’t thought think, if that makes any sense….(think the first Matrix and The Men Who Stare at Goats…)

and, to be honest, I AM an emotional cheesball when it comes to some movies, for example, i LOVE “Remember the Titans,” not only because I adore a good sports movie, but because TC Williams HS was 7 miles away from where I went to HS….(the boys ask me why I always cry at the end, even though I’ve seen it “a million times, mom!”)

Crap. Too much qualifying methinks! Notify me after you’ve seen it and we’ll talk more! 😉

As for details about my general state of GREAT, well, lessse, I am 1/2 way done with the core courses required for my certification, all my bills are paid and boy the elder is going back to the doc on Thurs. walking without crutches 9as much as the idea of it terrified him when last we saw the doc)!!

Whoooo hoooo!

marisacat - 7 March 2010

oh that is fantastic on the personal front brinn! Half way done, FANTASTIC. Even better, “bills paid”. What a relief.

yes i unabashedly love movies. All I ask is a few minutes of fascination or fleeting perfection. I think I only walked on two movies, My Darling Clementine with I forget who now, the old movie… did nto realise the marquee had changed at the little movie theatre….

AWFUL movie. And Kagemusha, surprisingly.

Otherwise, other than aimless family comedies, which I hate with a passion, I will watch most things…

brinn - 7 March 2010

Arrrgh! Though I do have to say that my mostly “riding the crest” momentum is waay too often interrupted by the boys’ father being a HUGE ASSHOLE! Though, as my therapist so often reminds me, and I should expect him to have changed in that last 5 months, why exactly??

Right! I am getting better at letting it go faster, though, since I do not have the time!

Madman in the Marketplace - 7 March 2010

I loved D-9, but it doesn’t have a chance.

marisacat - 7 March 2010

sad to say……….

brinn - 7 March 2010

I agree, Madman — no movie that good will ever win best picture!

2. Madman in the Marketplace - 7 March 2010

HBO just showed a promo for “Treme” … looks wonderful.

The opening of the Oscars was horrible, so I turned it to Big Love.

marisacat - 7 March 2010

I have a feeling the night is going to be a bust. I heard Kathy Ireland (best known for 169.00 lamps I believe?) refer to “Orsten Welles” while she was doing really really bad snap interviews on the Red Carpet.

And Martin and Whoo hoo Baldwin are dying in public. REALLY bad.

3. brinn - 7 March 2010

Boys are finally home! They were supposed to be here at 7….so ya’ll let me know what happens with the Os — I know I won’t be missing anything (unless of course D9 wins best pic or something, in which case I expect a phone call! LOL!)

Have fun!

marisacat - 7 March 2010

D-9 is just up for its exposition moment…

4. Madman in the Marketplace - 7 March 2010

IMDB updates their homepage whenever there is an award.

marisacat - 7 March 2010

Oh thank you… I figured you were watching Big Love so I emailed that Boal won for script writing for Hurt Locker… little itnerest when the camera scanned the front rows as he spoke, little applause, they ran the music immediately to mask.

hmmm.

Madman in the Marketplace - 7 March 2010

I’m glad he won! Thanks for the email. I’m sticking w/ Big Love for the rest of the hour.

The whole tone of the first half hour felt kind of ugly, and I thought the opening routine’s “jokes” were unpleasant.

marisacat - 7 March 2010

oh the show is dead. Bring back whatshisname. the one that did it for 8 or 9 years.

Madman in the Marketplace - 7 March 2010

either that or let Neil Patrick Harris stay on stage.

marisacat - 7 March 2010

oh yeah! he had some zip and verve.

marisacat - 7 March 2010

This show is painful. Painfully bad.

5. marisacat - 7 March 2010

Well fwiw, The Cove won… at least in terms of the poor whales and dolphins, good.

Something at least.

Here is Tyler Perry… time to ignore.

6. marisacat - 7 March 2010

hmm I read Frank Rich last night and hated what slop it was. IOZ does a good job of slamming it.

😆
.

[A] cackling gang of incoherent nativist xenophobes in paradoxical thrall to foreign military adventurism with a strong undercurrent of anti-Constitutional authoritarianism. Unlike the current Donk gang, who only appear as such because they happen to be aping and enforcing and expanding all of those hated anti-Democratic, unconstitutional, illegal, unfair, unjust, ad inf. policies, not that they actually believe in it. It’s just, if you want to unmake an omelette, first you have to make more omelettes

The “President’s” health-care bill, his “signature issue,” is a piece of shit. The fact that the Republicans misidentify it as Communism doesn’t make it by some magical property of implied alchemical transference any less of a piece of shit. And if it fails, if The President fails, then that is because they are totes, legit failures reaching their fabulously FAIL apotheosis, or nadir, or, you know, whatever.

7. bayprairie - 7 March 2010

well i see a woman has won best director for the first time in 82 years.

i might feel better about that if she had not thanked “the troops for their sacrifice”.

does that include the troops who bomb the wedding parties from the skies?

and who will thank the innocent iraqis from the stage in los angeles for their lost lives, and their blood spilled by our conqueriing heros?

i’m bettting nobody?

maybe its best to leave that best director thing in the hands of the guys who make war movies.

cue john wayne….

marisacat - 7 March 2010

and who will thank the innocent iraqis from the stage in los angeles for their lost lives, and their blood spilled by our conqueriing heros?

well…….. Nobody… cuz you know we got a civil rights community organiser running the godamned fuckign wars.

And …….. etc.

And so on.

8. artemisia - 7 March 2010

agreed. there will be no oscar, and likely no movie screened in the US, about the countless, nameless iraqis slaughtered like sacrificial lambs to the great american god of war.

9. marisacat - 8 March 2010

gnu

LINK

………………….. 😯


Leave a Reply

