jump to navigation

Le Weekend 1 April 2011

Posted by marisacat in Inconvenient Voice of the Voter, Total fucking lunatics.
trackback

Dublin Zoo's newest addition is cuddled by its mum Lena. The baby gorilla was born on Sunday, weighing only 1.81kgs, and so far keepers are unable to tell if it is a boy or a girl because Lena is keeping the baby close to her chest.

Dublin Zoo’s newest addition is cuddled by its mum Lena. The baby gorilla was born on Sunday, weighing only 1.81kgs, and so far keepers are unable to tell if it is a boy or a girl because Lena is keeping the baby close to her chest [PA]

I feel sorry for Creationists. It’s right there in front of their eyes.

********

Comments»

1. marisacat - 1 April 2011

BHHM frm end of the last thread:

{ Sotto voce now..}

The Congressional Oversight Panel’s Final Report on the Financial disaster.

…following the 911 Commission Report, I dare declare it the second volume needing only the capstone findings of an International Tribunal on U.S. War Crimes to make our Collapsing Empire Trilogy complete.

Remember Barry humping his GM “success”?
Just a month or so ago, Remember?
How Barry sold our Shares in GM for us at A PROFIT! 😆
Yeh, well the Oversight Panel now says we got the fuck beat out of us. Thanks for the news.

Maybe no one will notice …Whoopsie!
The Moonies got it at the Washington Times now.

Though Democrats tout the auto bailout as a success, recent reports illustrate the taxpayer cost of the GM auto bailout was substantially larger than the Obama administration and a Congressional Oversight report has owned up to.

“American taxpayers are now positioned to recover more than my administration invested in GM,” President Obama said, according to a piece in USA Today last November. Steven Rattner, former head of the Treasury’s auto task force agreed, telling CNN in November: “Recent progress at GM gives reason for optimism that it may be possible for taxpayers to get every penny back.”

In fact, Investor’s Business Daily reported that even the White House’s Director of the National Economic Council remarked that the Treasury Department Department had a good chance in “recovering most, if not all, of its investment in” GM.

However, a March 16 Congressional Oversight report, tells a different story. It estimates taxpayers will be out of $25 billion. Additionally, the report points out that “full repayment will not be possible unless the government is able to sell its remaining shares at a far higher price.”

That’s only the beginning. Both the White House and the Congressional Oversight report omit the fact that during its bankruptcy, GM got a $45 billion tax break, courtesy of the American people.

GM is driving “away from its U.S.-government-financed restructuring with a final gift in its trunk: a tax break that could be worth as much as $45 billion,” reported The Wall Street Journal last November.

Over one year after the promises President Obama and his administration made about the auto bailout, a February piece on AutoBlog also confirms that GM will also get a $14 billion dollar domestic tax break…

::

However, the Obama administration and its allies presently continue to celebrate the success of the auto bailout, regardless of the facts. “I don’t think there’s any doubt that this was a success,” said (H/T Detroit News) acting assistant secretary at the Treasury Department Tim Massad, who oversees the TARP program at Treasury, to a House panel on Wednesday.

And that’s just a sliver of the 390 page indexed blow-by-blow. The Bank holdings details, the AIG section in particular with its forecast of shit-sandwich for recouped returns is quite the cud to chew..

brinn - 1 April 2011

This time last year, I was estimating the heist at around 13 trillion….looks like I was underestimating by a fuckload (yes, that IS an economic term!)

Th things that just chaps my ass about all of this is that instead of giving even more money to the usurers, exploiters and uberflithyrich, the economy could’ve been quite nicely, and for much longer than 18 months, been stimulated by forgiving interest (nevermind principla, which could’ve also been easily enough paid off with the trillions we’ve given away) on consumer and student loan debt…make the banks collect ONLY original monies borrowed…

It’s Friday and I am so disgusted, it may be time to take another break from all of this…and wait until the radioactive rains come….

ms_xeno - 1 April 2011

I probably missed all the free umbrella jokes, right?

Sorry.

brinn - 1 April 2011

Hey sweetie! How’re you doing? With all the “looka the great unemployment news” BS, you know my thoughts turned to my sister in unemployment hell!

Did the state appeal your bennies or are you good?

How’s other things?

Wish I could hug ya for realz!8)

Oh, and, dunno about jokes, but I’ve been looking for a nicely price lead umbrella myself!

ms_xeno - 1 April 2011

Thanks, brinn! I wish I could, too. I found an awesome “Japan Rain” collage on flickr and linked to it on my LJ. Have a look. You’ll likely approve.

The latest on my misadventures with OR UI: The second hearing resulted in the State’s denial of my claim being thrown out. I’m now eligible for back benefits totaling 819.00, after taxes.

So the spigot, or trickle, is officially back on. We’ll see how long it takes before I actually see anything at my end.

Sadly, I have no idea whether mr_jaggoff, who started all this shit back in Feb. by denying me in the first place, will be bawled out and fish-slapped by his superiors. For all I know, all this bullshit was at a superior’s directive in the first place. This putz was actually at the second hearing! I almost shit a brick! 👿

So I saw you were talking about UI in the last thread. How are you and yours holding up, brinn?

brinn - 1 April 2011

Oh, good to hear the update, hope the trickle comes to a bank account with your name on it soon! As for me, I’m still getting my $157 every two weeks and have added yet a third part-time job to the mix…my big uncertainty will come when the $$ from the “emergency” UI fund that they are paying me out of from 2009 runs out…will they give me my leftover bennies from 2010? Will they tell me to take a hike? Dunno, got to wait another 6 weeks or so ’til it runs out…I have screwed myself out of $$ in the past by, well, you know, working! The lazy no account shit that I am….

I don’t know how to find your LJ, but if you let me know I will look and “approve” in advance! 😉

ms_xeno - 1 April 2011

$157?!?!

Crap. 😦

Anyway… Just use Mcat’s link on the right of her page here. It’s under “Ms. Xeno’s Remainder Bin.”

I have let the LJ lapse back to a free account, but most of my art was moved over to flickr before it went “poof.”

http://www.flickr.com/people/xenophora

I had made a resolution to get more art done in 2011, come hell or high water, but I wasn’t expecting to be out of work when I made it. Consequently, I’ve been able to update my “gallery” almost every day. Silver linings, and all that…

brinn - 1 April 2011

Oh, by the by, ms.x, you are artistically/graphically inclined, yes?

I have an idea for some quick $$, but need an illustrator…..

ms_xeno - 1 April 2011

s d e l a m i @ g m a i l

etc.

(I think the spacing will discourage phishing and the like. Just get rid of the spacing when you send the email.)

Might as well give it a go. I have nothing but time these days…

brinn - 1 April 2011

Will email you later tonight with the idea…

I have no time, but a bigass imagination! heh.

brinn - 1 April 2011

Er…make that tomorrow night…boy the younger has “squirty poop” and is throwing up…

*sigh*

ms_xeno - 1 April 2011

No problem, brinn. Hope he gets better fast. [hugs]

ts - 1 April 2011

Oh no. Hope he feels better soon.

marisacat - 1 April 2011

They did everything they could against people. ALL of them.

2. marisacat - 1 April 2011

In case diane stops by: Speaking of freeways….

diane - 1 April 2011

thanks …..that’s reminding me of driving through Utah at night on I-80 with average speed about 65, and some idiot in front of me clearly got confused at an interchange and came to a complete stop in the middle of the fracking road …I thought I was a goner, as I had no clean way around them ……and was too afraid to even look in the rear view ..needless to say the idiot in front of me, and myself got really lucky that night.

3. Madman in the Marketplace - 1 April 2011

I feel sorry for Creationists.

Me too … it must suck being a dumbass.

brinn - 1 April 2011

dunno, madman, they make it look sweet!

Still, wouldn’t trade wit ’em! 😉

Madman in the Marketplace - 1 April 2011

I am jealous about one thing … their great-grandparents got to ride dinosaurs.

marisacat - 1 April 2011

I saw somewhere or other that there is a claim that a cave painting of a standard children’s book long necked dino (so standard I am sure I have seen it, from the pictorial offered) is now proof people wuz here wid ’em.

Madman in the Marketplace - 1 April 2011

turned out to just a stain

marisacat - 1 April 2011

It looked so much like the way they drew dinosaurs a long time ago… a sort of happy helpful look on its face in a children’s book.

LOL

marisacat - 1 April 2011

deaf dumb and blind. but funny how they still perambulate.

4. Madman in the Marketplace - 1 April 2011

Of the 1%, by the 1%, for the 1%

Some people look at income inequality and shrug their shoulders. So what if this person gains and that person loses? What matters, they argue, is not how the pie is divided but the size of the pie. That argument is fundamentally wrong. An economy in which most citizens are doing worse year after year—an economy like America’s—is not likely to do well over the long haul. There are several reasons for this.

First, growing inequality is the flip side of something else: shrinking opportunity. Whenever we diminish equality of opportunity, it means that we are not using some of our most valuable assets—our people—in the most productive way possible. Second, many of the distortions that lead to inequality—such as those associated with monopoly power and preferential tax treatment for special interests—undermine the efficiency of the economy. This new inequality goes on to create new distortions, undermining efficiency even further. To give just one example, far too many of our most talented young people, seeing the astronomical rewards, have gone into finance rather than into fields that would lead to a more productive and healthy economy.

Third, and perhaps most important, a modern economy requires “collective action”—it needs government to invest in infrastructure, education, and technology. The United States and the world have benefited greatly from government-sponsored research that led to the Internet, to advances in public health, and so on. But America has long suffered from an under-investment in infrastructure (look at the condition of our highways and bridges, our railroads and airports), in basic research, and in education at all levels. Further cutbacks in these areas lie ahead.

None of this should come as a surprise—it is simply what happens when a society’s wealth distribution becomes lopsided. The more divided a society becomes in terms of wealth, the more reluctant the wealthy become to spend money on common needs. The rich don’t need to rely on government for parks or education or medical care or personal security—they can buy all these things for themselves. In the process, they become more distant from ordinary people, losing whatever empathy they may once have had. They also worry about strong government—one that could use its powers to adjust the balance, take some of their wealth, and invest it for the common good. The top 1 percent may complain about the kind of government we have in America, but in truth they like it just fine: too gridlocked to re-distribute, too divided to do anything but lower taxes.

marisacat - 1 April 2011

The top 1 percent may complain about the kind of government we have in America, but in truth they like it just fine: too gridlocked to re-distribute, too divided to do anything but lower taxes.

It’s worked out supremely well for them.

Madman in the Marketplace - 1 April 2011

yup

brinn - 1 April 2011

Yes, and so fucking what? This has been so my entire adult life…thing is, no gives a radioactive infected rat’s ass…

Sorry. In a very foul mood as of late.

5. Madman in the Marketplace - 1 April 2011

MN State Senator: Integration ‘Ruined’ Minneapolis But He Still Likes Blacks

It’s fucking 2011 … and we’re STILL seeing this shit.

brinn - 1 April 2011

XTER-Special help…my 8 kids, I struggled with reading…

Did I say circling the drain? My mistake, this country is the worst kind of toilet…backed up.

ARGH!

6. BooHooHooMan - 2 April 2011

I love the pic atop this thread, but I have to ask, where EVER did you find a picture of Sulzberger coddling Obama like that?

THE Top Story-

News Analysis
Job Growth Alters Playbook for Obama and His Critics
By JACKIE CALMES

As the unemployment rate ticked down, the hopes of Democrats ticked up: perhaps by the 2012 election they could claim vindication for their stimulus policies.

::

On a peripherally related note,
The only thing funnier than their “journalism” is Sulzberger dreaming that people are going to line up to pay subscriptions for such dime-a-dozen TPM’s. No I see Poof Sulzberger and stockholders at the NYT getting a hard cold reality check (again) over their latest carney’s grasp for coin in the Great American Anewsment Park. I pity the print production workers. The retainers and commoditised Court Scribes now that the money is gone? Good Luck.

I’d say cue another round of print media lamentations with calls eventually burbling up again to offer (bigger) big time tax credits to the industry. But I digress…shocking, I know..LOL

marisacat - 2 April 2011

Anything not to remind people of Libya. Shovel out another fake Unemployment number! (Not that most people can catch their breath and care about Libya, frankly)

BooHooHooMan - 2 April 2011

Libya. Such a success where we got his whole Cabinet to “defect”. Now all they have to do is await Ghadaffi’s defection to join them in London to head up the new government which will be re-inserted. 😉

We are not above it! (We really aren’t)

marisacat - 2 April 2011

to join them in London to head up the new government which will be re-inserted

Lookin’ that way.. but not a good sign that whoever the “rebels” are – offering cease fire as they retreat.

It certainly looks nothing like Egypt, nor even Bahrain nor Syria.

BooHooHooMan - 2 April 2011

And not that I know, (who knows given the reporting?) but our PTB are desperate to pry the “rebels” off their juicy home turf, the critical Oil operations where Gad forbid, various factions, Thank you very much, may just decide to be content to remain. From what I can tell this has great potential for the whopping Western clusterfuck, where Bhengaszans and East Libyan factions decline the nationalist mantle, the con offered by the U.S. to proceed split the country along Western lines without haste.
Gad forbid they figure Fuck Tripoli, in essence Who cares about ‘Inside the Beltway’ Living? Oh Plan B in the diplomatic game would be to entice them with visions of their own Dubai, but I think these pledges to “help” “secure” “Libya” in the craven fashion we do…. could turn Bhenghazi into another Mogadishu in terms of violence with far greater money and arms available and brought to bear. Which our PTB are cool with. We are so past any imaginary “endgame” to war, the profit-making endgame in itself.

marisacat - 2 April 2011

well they could easily leave Q as King of Tripoli… if the stories are true that whoever is in the east, is cutting their own oil deals.

Early in whatever this uprising was, a Warfalla tribe in the east that, at least in the west, is reported to control the extraction of oil, threatened to stop work. Hell they could just run their own strange game.

What ever any of it might be…

BooHooHooMan - 2 April 2011

well they could easily leave Q as King of Tripoli

just like I said! 😆 😉
Clean shaven men have been known to grow full beards, Howard Hughesian fingergernails grown while I’ve droned on!
Hell, they should drop me into Tripoli:
Give Up Q or I’ll EXPOUND! 😯 😉 😆

marisacat - 2 April 2011

I am interested to see how The Blessed (as IOZ calls him) explains away Libya.

It goes in a column with Gitmo (ddn’t close it) and Q (still there… unless something — cough — changes!)

Because it is a fucking mess, even for people barely following. And every white or black “liberal” Neo Nut is exposed as supporting War Thru Obster. Better Killing Thru Obster.

One of the things I hated about Iraq War, thru the summer of 2002, aside from friends who blithely said, ”he is just threatening war” (ffs, it ws one of the objectives of his run for the presidency in my opinion), aside from the impending horror, was that Vietnam had colored the entire first part of my life.

And I was going to hear about Iraq the entire rest of my life. And 9/11 and Afghanistan.

Shit. Godammit.

Then fucking Obster and his form of pillage wait person ever at the ready for the orders frm MIC, G-Saxe, etc…. Gonna hear about him for fucking ever.

BooHooHooMan - 2 April 2011

I am interested to see how The Blessed explains away Libya…

I can only imagine the 2012 contrast commercials coming Ob’s way. On any issue. Oh the PTB could give him a pass till the names Cheney and Bush might be more palatable for a ticket in 2016, but assuming no lovebabies etc, he will lose to a Romney Pawlenty OR Huckabee without the dive being arranged for any one of them up front.

in any event, I can only imagine what kind of campaign can Barry run… Bitching about Bush? A stroll down 2008 Historic Memory Lane, with ANY opponent with Youtube clips quite happy chat? A set piece campaign, the Law Professor lecture?

Other than the fix being put in for him ( not to be discounted IMO *if* awaiting Cheney Bush Restoration come 2016 – could be SOONER the way things are going) but if the MIC decides the electorate needs a little venting before proceeding with whatever perceived-as-non-kook GOP who survives the 2012 electoral paces, Barry methinks is fucking toast. And while there is much more to recommend Barry to our Overlords, there is also the need to keep the GOP base from riding off the reservation into full blown anti-Establishment-incumbent territory.

Either way my bet is the DNC tries some Stroll Down 2008 Historic Hoo-Hoo Sequal: The Barry Coming of Age Story, The Final Chapter…etc.

Some historic horseshit at that,.

BooHooHooMan - 2 April 2011

I can even imagine a surreal 2012 campaign where the central debate is over Barry botching the Wars, the “voter” fully down the Rabbit Hole left to decide whether we return to the Wars we were about to Win or to the Wars which Barry has ESCALATED

Makes me wanna puke.

marisacat - 2 April 2011

Yes I can see that sort of thing starting already.

Walter Russel Meade, a potatoe sack of human horse shit and a tactical supporter of Oblation… has, it KILLS me to say, a nt too stupid piece floating around on how Ob is splitting the Cruise Missile Liberals/War Dems even. Those for endless drone war, are OK, others, he calls the Jacksonians, who believe in driving the object of the war off the clif to the hungry liions below (and seling the pay per view!), are heading for the exits.

We shall see.

marisacat - 2 April 2011

I figure he can go in as easily as not. One component is how fucking bored he clearly is. I read a dismissal of him as “wanting the corner office, but to not be bothered by much”. (I don’t care if you take two aspirin but fer shure don’t call me in the morning. Or at all.)

I think he pretty much will run against AZ/Brewer, Hannity Limbaugh Fox. I’ve almost decided, since Brewer was a known quantity (R – elected as Lieut Gov), that removing the total fucking dud that Big Sis is away from AZ to DC, and thus assuring Brewer would ascend to Gov, may have been a plan.

And you know, then there is the wicked wind Palin. They may try to run against her birth canal again.

Who the hell knows.

7. marisacat - 2 April 2011

“There is a different leader in Syria now. Many of the members of Congress of both parties who have gone to Syria in recent months have said they believe he’s a reformer,” she said.

more by Hillary Rodham Clinton – 7 hours ago – BBC News (23 occurrences)

BooHooHooMan - 2 April 2011

Hillary, she’s such a funster.

marisacat - 2 April 2011

I think she has finally cracked her lid. And not because she is spinning spin.

She looks gone.

8. marisacat - 2 April 2011

All you can do is laugh.

Japan nuclear crisis not yet over:IAEA chief

Xinhua – Wang Yan – ‎1 hour ago‎

NAIROBI, April 2 (Xinhua) — The environmental crisis arising from the accident at the Fukushima Daiichi Nuclear plant in Japan is far from over, the UN atomic agency said.

I am sure we all thought it was over, with uncovered reactors, walls missing, smoke rising, cracks in the atomic firmament, no one to collect he bodies inside the exclusion zone… etc.

9. marisacat - 2 April 2011

Apparently no Speech is plannned.

BULLETIN: President Obama plans to announce his reelection campaign early next week in an electronic message to grassroots supporters, Democratic sources tell POLITICO. Obama launches with a recovering economy and a weak, fractured Republican field, but with chaos in the Middle East that adds unpredictability to an environment that points to likely reelection. Obama’s campaign, which could raise $1 billion or more, will be based in Chicago, just a few blocks from the headquarters of his historic 2008 race.

10. marisacat - 2 April 2011

Every report from Japan is like a Hallamrk card of disaster.

And this s just one leak, sitting there for weeks. Even they admit, more to come.

Radioactive water has been spilling into the Pacific Ocean from a crack in a maintenance pit discovered Saturday at Japan’s distressed nuclear plant.

The crack was discovered on the edge of the plant, according to Nuclear and Industrial Safety Agency spokesman Hidehiko Nishiyama. It was most likely caused by the March 11th earthquake and tsunami that ravaged the coast of Japan and the Fukushima Dai-ichi nuclear complex, according to the Associated Press.

“This could be one of the sources of seawater contamination,” Nishiyama said. “There could be other similar cracks in the area, and we must find them as quickly as possible.”

The air above the radioactive water in the pit is measuring 1,000 millisieverts of radiation per hour, according to Nishiyama. Risk of cancer is greatly increased by exposure to 500 millisieverts over a short period of time.

According to the Tokyo Electric Power Co. (TEPCO), the water is coming from a pit holding power cables near the water intake inside the reactor. TEPCO is trying to pour concrete to seal the 8-inch-long crack. …

But Don’t Worry!

Even large amounts of radiation have little effect on a body of water as vast as the Pacific Ocean, and experts have said the radiation from the Fukushima Dai-ichi complex will be quickly diluted.

Dilution Pollution. No fears…

m - 2 April 2011

Be happy!

marisacat - 2 April 2011

SMILE or we kill you.

m - 2 April 2011

Shop shop shop till you drop!!!

marisacat - 2 April 2011

shoppee droppee hopeychangey.

11. Madman in the Marketplace - 2 April 2011
marisacat - 2 April 2011

omigod.. when ever I hear of one of these Pockets of Resistance (earlier known as Falluja, Basra, Samarra, Tikrit, etc) I am just so happy.

diane - 2 April 2011

AmeriKa the ‘beautiful’:

Seven people were arrested, including a 70-year-old neighbor, still in her pajamas.

diane - 2 April 2011

from ritaague, in the comments:

It wasn’t an entire SWAT team that kicked me out of the Colorado Springs/El Paso County Clerk and Recorder’s office, as I attempted to cast an early vote in 2006. Instead, it was a security guard, at the order of a Koch sucking G.O.P. elected official.

The cause of my being evicted? A small Grandmothers for Peace button I wore pinned to my jacket. Clerk and Recorder Balink said it might remind people there was a war going on. Not one word did he say re. the troops in uniform who voted that day nearby me.

(bolding mine …oh granny doncha know? ……this country hates females, especially when they’re considered too old to fuck (14 years and over) …..)

marisacat - 2 April 2011

iirc there was a stretch of time in there whn the R machine DID (in small mean ways) target that sort of grannie movement. They’d show up to protests in old fashioned clothing and bonnets and the like.

They always struck me as cheerful… and part of the whole.

diane - 2 April 2011

jeesh nothing surprises anymore …but still never ceases to make me sick …. so the GOP dressed as kind grannies? I can just see that psychopath turdblossom rove in a fuckin bonnet :0) ….and so many thought Dressed to Kill was scary …….. jeeesh …

marisacat - 2 April 2011

NO no they were old time Liberals or Lefties or whatever they were. Just a part of the whole…

marisacat - 2 April 2011

Do you remember Grannie D? For instance. The Dems doted on her, she did htings like walk across America at 90+wahtever to protest the war(s).

Of course when it did nto suit them anymore they chucked her aside. Her diaries at Dkos ALWYS made sense.

diane - 2 April 2011

Oh, …….got it …..and yeah, I do remember Grannie D and yeah she did make sense… which, of course, is why they dumped her.

12. Madman in the Marketplace - 2 April 2011

Humanitarians of the Year

Freedom! If there’s one thing America loves, it’s… well, war. But if there’s two things America loves, it’s war and torture. But if there’s three things America loves, it’s war, torture, and genocide. But if there are several dozen things America loves, they are war, torture, genocide, chattel slavery, apartheid, ethnic cleansing, assassination, poverty, institutionalized bribery, remote-controlled flying death robots and somewhere down the list, between prison labor and lagoons of toxic pig shit, there is almost certainly a special place in our national heart for freedom.

And so it is that the United States is fighting to free the Libyan people from the Libyan people by killing the Libyan people. The situation is fairly straightforward, after all – Libya faces a humanitarian crisis, and the only way to address a humanitarian crisis is to bomb it with hundreds of cruise missiles. I’m told that the Red Cross still delivers bottled water and medical supplies by duct-taping them to the nose cone of an outgoing Tomahawk. More importantly, the Libyan people are oppressed by a bloodthirsty dictator – a dictator who kills his own people – and the least we can do is kill those people ourselves. How, I ask, can we stand idly by and allow people to be slaughtered by a ruthless tyrant when we could be slaughtering them instead?

You may ask, what makes getting killed by the United States any better than getting killed by Qaddafi? Because we are America, killing for a great American cause, in the name of Americanness, and our murder victims, in their last moments, as their houses are burnt and their schools destroyed and their neighbors incinerated and their families turned into hamburger, will come to know our American values: of freedom, of liberty, of toxic pig shit.

Labels: warnography
posted by the Medium Lobster at 11:21 AM

13. Madman in the Marketplace - 2 April 2011
marisacat - 2 April 2011

The holy jesus penis…. flies again.

m - 3 April 2011

Someone remind me why these organizations get tax breaks??

Because they provide a service to the community??

marisacat - 3 April 2011

I think because basically we foster sex crimes. We sure don’t seem to care about the whole spectrum, children or not.

14. Madman in the Marketplace - 2 April 2011

‘No cop in the state’ would arrest Senate dems: Fitzgerald

Senate Majority Leader Scott Fitzgerald was repeatedly warned he would be stepping outside the law if he forcibly returned 14 Democratic senators who fled Wisconsin in February, according to internal emails.

Records obtained from the offices of Fitzgerald and Senate Sergeant-at-Arms Ted Blazel show Fitzgerald was told he was on shaky legal ground by attorneys from three state agencies. The memos and email correspondence were released in response to a public records request from the State Journal.

In an interview Friday, Fitzgerald, R-Juneau, said the flight of the senators and the resulting legislative stalemate were “uncharted territory” that no one knew how to navigate.

But he acknowledged the efforts to return the senators to Madison came off as “comical” and would have become a public relations “disaster” if any lawmakers had been hauled back to Madison in a squad car.

“The whole thing was a mess,” Fitzgerald said. “You just can’t compel a senator to come back to the chamber.”

He said the reality was brought home when police agencies refused to carry out his March 3 order to forcibly detain the senators. Among them was Rock County Sheriff Robert Spoden, who said his department would not honor any order to bring in Sen. Tim Cullen, D-Janesville.

Said Fitzgerald: “There was no cop in the state that would enforce it.”

Senate Minority Leader Mark Miller, D-Monona, said Fitzgerald was more interested in bullying Democrats than “working to find a reasonable compromise that protected people’s rights and helped create jobs.”

The polls must be looking very, very bad if Fitz is doing clumsy PR like this to try to mitigate the damage. There is VIDEO of him ranting like a tinpot dictator during the whole thing.

marisacat - 2 April 2011

yum yum

15. marisacat - 2 April 2011

hmm I scammed this from a comment thread at Tiny Revolution:

[…]”Then the next week I said [to Chief Cabinet Secretary Edano], ‘You were wrong, weren’t you? Radioactive material has been found in the area outside the 30km line, and even though you said radioactive material would never reach Tokyo, it has, hasn’t it? The government is responsible for the consequences of what it says so you should make a proper apology. Correct your mistakes.’

He replied, ‘That is not the case.’

When I said that, far from being within the 30km radius, radioactive material was found 40km away, and that he should correct the mistake, he told me to ‘Submit that properly in writing.’

I asked a question in the middle of a press conference, and he actually told me to put it on paper. [Laughs] At that point I just couldn’t believe it any more. It’s the first time that has ever happened to me – to be asked to submit a question in writing in the middle of actually asking it.

Basically, it’s hopeless, isn’t it?

Something in the minds of the government has burst.”

Time Out – Japan

16. Madman in the Marketplace - 3 April 2011

WI is turning out to be some fun this spring!

Fitz’s Two-stage Retreat from Green Bay

The tactics employed by Senate Majority Leader Scott Fitzgerald in Green Bay today to get weasel out of a negative publicity situation didn’t work on a crowd of Dave Hansen supporters who got advance word of the “o.k, we’re gone now” crowd-dispersal ploy used previously in Green Bay by supporters of the Walker administration. Complacent local television media, dutifully present at the “recall Hansen” event Fitz had hoped to inspire, left before the real news unfolded.

The unscripted portion of Fitzgerald’s appearance occurred after a van assumed to be carrying the controversial Senate leader drove through an impressive gathering of Fab-14 member Hansen supporters and left the scene of the asymmetrically balanced rally/counter-rally. However, Fitz wasn’t onboard to willingly face the gauntlet. Not yet.

snip

Today saw Fitzgerald employ the same tactic, but with quite a different outcome. The bulk of the crowd Fitz was dreading to face, alerted that he remained behind, stayed in place this time. Our reporter caught Fitzgerald just as he was sneaking to his car near the back of the lot and pointed him out to the crowd, shouting, “Here’s the weasel!”, then told Fitzgerald point-blank that he was “owned by the Koch brothers” and that he was “ruining Wisconsin”. As he got in his red car he asked with a matching reddened face, “Are you serious?”

Fitz got an earful of “shame” as his car worked it’s way through the crowd of some hundreds of pro-Hansen, anti-Fitzwalkerstan demonstrators who now closed in. While Green Bay police cleared the way up front, a Kloppenburg sign somehow found it’s way onto the rear window of the escape vehicle for awhile, until one member of the vastly outnumbered pro-Fitz entourage risked exposure to the swarming crowd to remove the powerful talisman.

Police present at this second-stage of the departure of an obviously frustrated Senate leader were seen to crack a smile or two. The last Fitz staffer to bail out of the rally flipped a one-finger salute to our reporting staff, attributed to “poor manners” by an amused cop. Police had little else to manage, as only words were thrown at Fitz’s embarrassing retreat. They might really sting your ego, Fitz, but you’ll get used to it soon.

17. Madman in the Marketplace - 3 April 2011
18. Madman in the Marketplace - 3 April 2011
19. marisacat - 3 April 2011

hmm Except for the human misery you might as well laugh.

I see Goldstone now retracts his report to the UN on Gaza War crimes and targetting of civilians by the IDF.

Google news page link

AND according to the Guardian he has “expressed regret”, saying he no longer believes in his report.

The judge who chaired the controversial UN inquiry into Israel’s attack on Gaza from December 2008 has expressed regret that his report may have been inaccurate.

Richard Goldstone, who led the committee that produced the Goldstone report, said in a newspaper article that “if I had known then what I know now, the Goldstone report would have been a very different document”.

The judge’s article was welcomed by Israeli leaders. Binyamin Netanyahu, the Israeli prime minister, told ministers on Sunday: “There are very few incidents in which false accusations are taken back, and this is the case with the Goldstone report.”

He said that Israel would now try to get the report retracted by the UN.

…..

Israeli officials admit that the Gaza war, because of the high Palestinian death toll and subsequent furore, has caused the country diplomatic and public relations problems.

Israeli media responded to Goldstone’s article with jubilation. The columnists of the Yedioth Ahronoth newspaper offered a conciliatory tone to the judge for having the courage to question his initial findings, while Ma’ariv writers were unforgiving.

One wrote: “He is undeserving of either forgiveness or mercy” and had perpetrated “a despicable and shameful act”.

m - 3 April 2011

Let’s forget about the phosphorous on hospitals in the meddle of the day. Plenty of photos. Zionists do know how to rewrite history.

20. m - 3 April 2011
ts - 3 April 2011

That reminds me of this classic skit:

Ross Denton: Oh my God. It’s the president! [ they rush to open the door, Jimmy Carter comes out, glowing. ] Mr. President, [ nervous ] you’re glowing!

Rosalyn Carter: Jimmy!

President Jimmy Carter: Don’t touch me. I’m a nuclear engineer, and I’m pretty worried right now. You’ve got six inches of radioactive water in that room. You’d better drain that.

…later

President Jimmy Carter: Good afternoon, everybody. I’m afraid that since the army clothing engineers have been unable to fit me with a giant loincloth, I’ll have to adress you through this window. First, let me say that this experience has not changed my committment to nuclear power, nor do I believe that my enourmous size will in any way limit my abilities to perfrom my duties in my office. However, this will mean some changes in my personal life. Rosalyn, I hate to spring this on you this way, but I’d like to introduce you all to my future wife and my next first lady. She was a widow, and, until recently, a maintainance worker here at Two Mile Island. Miss Violet Crawford.

marisacat - 3 April 2011

The thread to the Economist article was hilarious. People mostly falling all over themselves with love and admiration for Jimmeh.

m - 3 April 2011

Interesting that it seems no ill effects.

21. marisacat - 3 April 2011

Neue…

LINK

……. 8)


Leave a Reply

